Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

D.I.Y. Time!

D.I.Y. TIME!

The new kitchen.

It's only a dream right now. Actually, the new windows which will replace the one window over the sink, are in the basement...waiting.

Our carpenter who will "help" us do this job, has been alerted that we are poised to get this ball rolling... a ball, by the way, that has been in the planning stages for 16 years!

OK. So things have got to start happening soon. It's time to go up to the DIY store and pick out stuff. Like countertops and cabinets.

We've already purchased all new appliances, but only because in these last 16 years, they all broke, and it was necessary that we do. So they are all new, and ready to go. But the cabinet-monster is what is getting me crazy now!

We decided to go up to the DIY store yesterday, together... the husband and I, to see if we could come to any sort of a decision on this subject.

I have a very bad back, for one thing. I had worked all day for another thing. So by the time we got there, and had walked back and forth, all around the sample kitchens, reading brochures, asking questions, well, my back was screaming at me to please sit down!!!!!

I was getting crankier by the second.

We chose a mutually acceptable pattern/color of Corian countertop...brown/tan/white/black flecks... good for hiding spots, and things like roaming ants...

That job out of the way, the cabinet monster loomed still. Each sample kitchen was probed and prodded, examined as if under a microscope by the husband, who did not want any cheap veneers on his cabinets! Until at last, after examining every one there, this very nice gentleman, named Juan, helped us to locate, out in a corner we handn't even seen, a sampling of some wonderful cabinets made by Kraftmaid... and that is where I fell in kitchen-cabinet-love!

I told the husband, "these are our cabinets... I know it... I have this spiritual connection to them...I LOVE them."

OK... and they have loads of styles, loads of colors, and even more combinations of woods, interior woods... exterior woods, side woods, and each costing a different amount. Oh, it was all just getting to be too much - and my back by this point had gone around the bend and back again in the pain cycle!

We said we'd look at their web site and would decide at home. We took a mountain of brochures and booklets with us, and scurried outside to our pick-up truck... because from the DIY store, we still had to drive thru rush-hour traffic (it was 4:47 p.m. when we came out of the parking lot) over to the next town to drop off my work and pick up more. I like it when the husband drives...I get to look at the scenery!

So the drive wasn't that tough for me. I was sitting, at last, and that felt so goooood!

The fog had rolled in, like on little cat's feet, and we were engulfed in it. That's OK...it feels more like England to me in the fog.

At the office, we went on up, everyone of course had left for the day, so I got set down at the computer to put my work in... and I don't believe it! Turns out that five of the seven files I had to save onto their computer were in Word-2000 mode, and the office only has the microsoft 1995 version! This has happened to me a couple of times before, and there is NO way to convert/save my files into their computer!

I had to go home...re-save those five files in the 6.0 1995 version, and come back again!

Arrrrrrgggggghhhhh!

I was completely wasted by that point. Then, of course, there is dinner waiting to cook when we rolled in around 6 p.m. and oh, yes, the dogs had been left out in their yard and had not eaten yet either. By the time they had eaten, and I had cooked, and we had eaten, it was 7:30 p.m. There was NO way I was driving back over to the office now!

Lucky for me, the work goes out around 9-ish in the mornings...so I knew I had til then to get it to them. I went to bed at 9:30, and told the husband to please make sure I'm up 5:30...on the nose... so I can drive my work over there, and get back in time to begin the new work!

I don't use an alarm...I just wake up by myself around 6 each day. Of course, now that I knew I had to get up at 5:30.... do you think I could sleep one minute past 2 a.m.?

So, it's 7:50 p.m. on a Tuesday night. I have been up since 2 a.m. this morning.

I spent half the day today measuring and figuring out what cabinets would fit where in the kitchen...after doing my work for the day, and when the husband came home, after I'd spent all that time doing it, he argued with me on all sorts of little points... OK... that did it!

I'm done with this job! It's up to the men now - I've chosen the colors, the countertops, the styles, and I'm done!

Boy, that feels good not having that job anymore. But I'm so exhausted now, that I can hardly keep my eyes open for 5 more minutes...so, I'm off to bed again!

Good Night.

7:32 pm - 25 March 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2