Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In a holding pattern

IN A HOLDING PATTERN

Some days here in Crow Cottage, things are hopping.

There may be the rat-tat-tat noise coming from upstairs - that would be me typing on the computer for most of the day.

Or, there may be the loud buzzing noise from the band-saw coming from the basement, with sawdust flying thru the air, as the husband works on his lobster gear, or some other household project.

It may be noontime here at Crow Cottage, which means only one thing: our collie, Jasmine Rose, will be barking her head off at the UPS truck that comes up the street every day like clockwork at that hour, and if there is one thing Jazzy cannot tolerate...it's that UPS truck engine noise! She has never actually gotten free of our property and attacked the truck, and in fact, I don't think she has an attack bone in her body, if truth were known, but it must be the noise of the diesel engine that she detests... anyway, she makes the biggest racket you have ever heard!

But there are other times, like right now, for instance, when the husband is done with his work for the day, and has gone upstairs to read and watch his little tv in the bedroom, even take a quick nap.....

...the dogs have been fed, and they are out in their yard, too full for much jollity and nuisance...

and I have done all my typing, taken it to the office, visited with my coworkers, and have fought my way back thru rush hour Salem traffic, and have about an hour left over to relax in this quiet period of the day.

That is what is going on now; I'm in my holding pattern.

I don't really have a lot to talk about, and I wouldn't want to talk anyway. I don't talk much anymore... being a kind of hermit like I am... but this hour, between 4 and 5 p.m., after work is done, but before dinnertime preparations begin, is a nice peaceful time of day to just unwind, maybe get a cuppa Yorkshire Gold tea, and just have a think...

Maybe catch up on some e-mails, read the snail mail. Maybe even read a chapter in my book, which happens to be the Complete Short Stories of Anthony Trollope at the moment. Wonderful stories that can each be read in a day, in a quiet hour...

It's a good time of day.

Think I'll just go back to my "think" right now.

4:42 pm - 02 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2