Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dreams of Spring

DREAMS OF SPRING

Well, I've decided that Old Man Winter is just not going to let go this year... so the only way to enjoy the Spring here in New England will be to dream about it!

I can do that!

Let's see, I have four large peony plants in the back garden, abutting the dogs' yard, that I need to watch out for... they get so tall with heavy blooms that I have some metal plant holders to keep them upright... but I need to put them over the tiny sprouts before they get more than a few inches out of the ground.

Then I must get the husband to move that darn expandable ladder that he's stored on the back lawn on top of two lobster traps...the grass under there will come in yellow if we're not careful...and any day now, Spring could sneak in, with sunshine..... couldn't it?

I've shoveled snow off my two decks, one on the front and one on the back of the house, so many times... that I'm just leaving it alone now to melt in the sun.

I did get my deck chairs out of the storage room a few weeks ago, when it was in the 70's, and put them with the little side tables on the deck, so they are all set for sitting in!

We've got leaves galore, underneath all the shrubbery - front and back - that needs raking and disposing of... I like to assign that job to the husband, which isn't always easy - the one day he decides to do it, once I've nagged him for a while, it's blowing a nor'easter and raking is just not possible!

Last Summer it was so incredibly hot and humid ALL summer long that i never trimmed my euonymous shrubs - also front and back, so that is a must job to do this Spring... before the hot weather creeps in.

Then there are the window box plants! Ahhh! When I plant those, I feel that Old Man Winter is really, finally and truly gone... I almost bought some a few weeks ago... remember back when we had 70's temperature? Good thing I didn't! Way too early...in March, for window box plants.

But this dream I'm in... about flowers, and birds, and green grass, and tall iced tea on the deck... it's looking better and better all the time...

Oh, almost forgot, I must get my deck umbrellas out of storage and put them up too... there is something really cosy about sitting on the porch under a green canvas umbrella... especially if the night is warm, and there is some light rain falling, I can sit under the umbrella outside and not get wet... as long as the wind stays put...

And as long as this is MY dream, I'll keep the temps down to a comfortable 75 degrees...right where I like it...no humidity, a gentle rain maybe once a week... (to keep my sprinkler/water bill down).

I'll need to keep my birdbaths filled so the birds can splish and splash about in them, and put on a show for us.

And since it's truly Spring (in this dream of mine), the lobster traps that are stacked 6 high, lining the driveway and acting as a huge wall between us and our neighbor, will be going in groups of 10 or 15, out to the ocean with Paul each day, so he can start earning a living again after a long cold winter at home.

Now don't wake me up! This dream of Spring is really soothing to my soul....just pass the sunscreen, I think my nose is getting pink!

8:20 pm - 08 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2