Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short Order Cook

SHORT ORDER COOK

Yep, that's what I am... or rather a "short timer" cook...

...because, with the state my kitchen is in at the moment, there is not a heckuva lot of cooking that is going to be done by me...that's for sure. Not until the walls are put back, the cabinets are installed, and all is right with the kitchen...once again.

We have found that, when you expose the innards of a house, little creatures, who have been happily calling those innards "home sweet home," like to come out into the room and see what all the hullabaloo is about... however, when those creatures drop onto MY countertop whilst I am trying to prepare food, that's where I draw the line.

So tomorrow I think it's time for the heavy guns... the TV dinners! Yep, gourmet cuisine at Crow Cottage has come to an end.

At least temporarily.

And as if that weren't enough to discourage a person, my webtv decided that it was not going to permit me to log on-line today...not until after dinner time, that is. I was quite busy with work all day, but my early morning chit-chat was non-existent today, and when you are used to contacting that special someone each and every day, before even that first cuppa caffeine can kick in, well, it just starts the day out all wrong when technology takes the upper hand.

It's kind of scary to be so dependent on a little black box, too. A perfectly good day can be ruined by not being able to connect to the web. Where have we come?

Weatherwise, we had record breaking temperatures here in New England today, and I know why... it was all that complaining about Winter hanging on by its fingernails this year, and the "where is Spring?" mantra. It was in the high 80's today, and that is NOT my idea of Spring...that is downright SUMMERTIME...but the living was not EASY...it was just too darn hot!

I need a new A/C unit in my den, where I work, and today was the first taste of things to come, so this is the week I get myself up to Tri-City Sales and check out their quiet-models of A/C units...not too big, just enough to cool off my office area.

The dogs didn't enjoy the heat either today...they have their winter coats still on, and their tongues were, most of today, "hanging out like red neckties" (as my late father used to always say). They are happier now, and so are we humans...the temps have done a nose dive and it's downright cool out there now, happily! Good for sleeping.

So that's about it from here. I'm heading up to bed now, as soon as I tuck in my "girls" and turn out the lights.

Happy Trails.

9:02 pm - 16 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2