Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Lilac Kind of Day

A LILAC KIND OF DAY

After all the rushing around, typing up my work in the morning, taking it over to the office at noontime, and rushing to the pet supply store for (what else?) pet supplies/goodies, then to the human food store for more human supplies, I slowed down between my car and the doorway to the store just long enough to spot some plants out front for sale.

This food store, which is a Super Stop & Shop, is one I really love to shop in, but usually their plants out in the front car park are less then ideal. But I like to look them over anyway, see if there's a perfect plant for me to adopt...

...and sure enough, there were two today!

Two rather sad, dried out, but definitely with possibilities, pink lilac plants.

I have a rather large garden here at Crow Cottage. Front and back of the house, there are quite a few plants, trees, shrubs, flowers, etc. scattered all around, but one plant that I've always loved (who doesn't?) is the lilac bush.

About 10 or 12 years ago, when my in-laws bought their home in Maine, their local bank was offering lilac plants at a great discounted price, if they opened an account there, which they were doing anyway, and the quantity of plants was unlimited... well, my mother-in-law loves lilacs, and she quickly took advantage of this bargain and got oh, about 50 plants or more. That was, as I said, about 10 or 12 years ago.

They planted them all up the two sides of their property line, kind of acting as a privacy hedge, and at this point, those lilacs are just the most incredible things you have ever seen! I'm so envious whenever we visit them, so now I figured it was my turn to start a few of my own.

They are tiny now, but they'll grow...I have faith! Everything (just about) grows out in my garden, and I really don't do too much fussing either. I don't know why, but I am glad of it.

If I had thought about it, I'd have taken a picture of the twin lilacs for you, but I didn't, so maybe next time I'll have one here.

On another subject altogether, we are off to see another movie at our favourite theater tonight -- Chicago is playing, so we are going to the 5:30 show.

Not sure I mentioned about the last movie we saw - The Quiet American with Michael Caine, but is was so-so...not highly recommended by us...ok, but no great shakes.

The sun is out today, and my little fledgling lilacs are perking up already with the good drink I just gave them. Stay tuned for pictures of them later...

[Note: The pictures above are what my lilacs will look like...someday... but not quite yet!]

3:02 pm - 19 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2