Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

D. I. Y.

D. I. Y.

The first time I ever heard that phrase, (DIY, or "do it yourself") was while we were in England on our honeymoon, back in 1986. Since that time, the phrase has caught on and now, clear across an ocean, everything is DIY-this, and DIY-that.

Well, we are in the process of Doing It (basically) Ourselves here, too, lately. Tomorrow, Matt the Carpenter is due here at 8 a.m. to install our two new kitchen windows!

Yep! Paul picked them up today. Matt called us this evening and, even though we are expecting rain for the entire day, tomorrow will be the day our windows go in! Oh Lordy!

But another DIY project that is happening here is in the rear garden area. There are two levels to the back yard, with an old tumble-down stone wall in between. For almost 17 years now, I have been hopping up and down that stone wall, to get down to the bottom sections and back, to mow, etc. Well, the grass has all but died down there, but Paul has cleared a spot, and he wants to plant his tomatoes and cukes there.

So, having arrived at the ripe old age of 55 recently, I asked Paul if we could please have some sort of steps going from the upper level of yard to the lower level, and, for some reason, he began that project the other day.

I had envisioned a nice set of 2 or 3 steps made from flagstones we have around here...something very natural...

But that's not what we are getting.

Here is what the spot looks like before the new steps:

CLICK HERE

Unfortunately, I haven't a picture yet of the finished steps (they are made of wood, by the way) as they are not finished! But as soon as they are done, you will see the finished product!

Otherwise, it's been work-work-work around here of late.

My trip to Maine has been rescheduled for next Monday, so that means I will have to do my typing on the weekend, but that's OK...my Mum-&-Dad-in-law are worth the extra effort - I am going to give them a tutorial on using the webtv, you know, explain the finer points of it, and get them more familiar with it.

Until next time, here's wishing you all a safe and satisfying day.

7:24 pm - 30 April 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2