Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long time passing...

LONG TIME PASSING...

Funny how, whenever I try to think of a good "title" for this page, the first thing that ALWAYS pops into my head is the song "Where have all the flowers gone" as sung by Peter, Paul and Mary.

So, that dates me, I suppose. They may be cliche, and old hat by now, but I loved that folk group...almost as much as I loved the Chad Mitchell Trio. Ahhh, those were the days... of exhuberant youth, full of the future, full of protest songs, guitars, and boys!

At this stage, I'm thankful those memories, of that time gone by, are still recallable to me! (Is that a word?)

I've been very remiss in putting entries into this journal... been going through a "blue" period lately, don't know why either.

We are moving ever so slowly through the kitchen renovation work, and Paul is working diligently, albeit sporadically, on replacing windows and clapboards on the rear of the house...

CLICK HERE FOR A PEEK

As the picture shows, it's quite in disarray out back at the moment. Poor puppies...they have to look at that mess whilst out in their yard, which is the spot from where this picture was taken.

You would never believe there was such a mess back there, if you were to look at

THE FRONT OF THE HOUSE

This picture was taken on the same day as the one above...all looks neat and peaceful from the front...

Well, that's life as a homeowner. There is never a time when everything is done! The "To Do" list is never empty...it's always growing, in fact, and I don't know if we have ever lived a day in this house when we weren't in the middle of some home improvement or repair project.


We just recently (May 10th) celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary. It came and went without fanfare, as they ALL do. We each got a card, but that was about all that was different on that day. No special gifts, no special food, no special anything.

Except for one thing, now that I think of it.

There was one VERY special thing... and that was the fact that we are still married!

Here is where it all started for us on that day in May, 17 years ago, on Stonybrook Road in Marblehead, a town by the sea.

MARRIED ONLY MINUTES

So, maybe there is hope for the future, after all. We are planning our ninth trip to England next year. I will have to start thinking about choosing a cottage soon, as they are booked a year in advance over there... and I'm kind of hoping to get the same cottage we had last year in Rosedale Abbey. It is a very special dale in the North York moors, and even though we've seen it many times before, we never tire of it...like driving up and down Rosedale Chimney each day... oh, what a thrill that is!

OK. Back to reality for me now. It's a beautiful, blue-skied, sun-drenched Sunday afternoon, and I have been ensconsed in work with not much hope of getting out in into this glorious Spring day. Hey, at least I found the energy to put in this new journal entry, which has been weighing on my mind for quite some time. Now, I don't know how long it will be before the next entry appears... hopefully sooner than later...

1:06 pm - 18 May 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2