Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Subjective (I) and Objective (me)

Subjective (I) and Objective (me)

I am not naming names.

And I don't want to be labeled a "Grammar Nazi" by anyone.

However, this has been bugging me "big time" for so long now that, if I don't speak my mind here and now, my brain will self-destruct in three nano-seconds.

There are many, many instances of incorrect usage of English grammar, especially as can be heard and read in the Media. If we assume that the grammar we hear on the telly is correct, we are mistaken.

I have heard this particular grammatical faux pas so many times over the last several years that it has come to a boiling point in my brain. I will not address all of the other grammatical errors, like the "there/their/they're" matter, or the "who's/whose" dilemma but, rather, I just would like to set the record straight, once and for all, on this one tiny little grammatical error that is made by SO many people these days!

The use of the pronouns:

(the subjective) "I" and (the objective) "me".

There are two ways to use these words.

One is as a subjective case ("I")

The other is as an objective case ("me")

Simple, wouldn't you think?

All you need to know is "which is which?" in the sentence you are constructing.

Also fairly simple.

I will give examples.

INCORRECT (but heard so often it makes my skin crawl):

Me and John went to the mall today.

CORRECT:

John and I went to the mall today.

First of all, you should always put "you" last when combining yourself with another person in a sentence... and second of all, the word "me" is being used as a "subjective" in this incorrect sentence, when it should be the "subjective" "I").

SIMPLE TEST:

Take away the other person's name, and say the sentence and see if it sounds correct.

Original incorrect form:

Me and John went to the mall today.

Now, take away the other person, John, and say the sentence:

Me went to the mall today.

You see? It is not correct!

"I went to the mall today" IS correct.

Therefore,

"John and I went to the mall today" is the correct sentence.

A subject does the acting -

An object is acted upon...


In the Objective form of these pronouns here is what I hear all the time:

INCORRECT:

Dad gave Mary and I a dog for Christmas.

Since the two names are objects of the verb "gave" - they have to be objective case.

Just do the simple test above, and take out the other person's name, and say the same sentence:

Dad gave I a dog for Christmas.

See? It's just not right, is it?

CORRECT:

Dad gave me a dog for Christmas.

or

Dad gave Mary and me a dog for Christmas.

So...when you are using the pronouns "I" and "me"...combined with another person in a sentence, just stop before you speak or write, take out the other person's name and say the same sentence, and see if it sounds correct.

That's all I ask. I can deal with the constant misuse of "their, there, and they're" because frankly, when they are "spoken" (not written) the error is not noticeable, however, when the "me" and "I" mix-up is used, it is glaringly obvious to anyone who cherishes the English language, and really does a number on us when we hear or read it!

So, please have a little mercy in your hearts, and just learn the proper use of these two simple pronouns.

If this journal entry hits home and changes just one person's habit, I will consider it totally successful. If you are the offender, and you have decided to change for the better in this regard, I thank you very much, indeed.


There is just one other faux pas that also drives me up to Mars and back when I hear it and, unfortunately, it comes out of the mouths of some of the most highly placed government officials in the land -- yes, from his royal highness Mr. Bush himself, who is the world's number ONE offender in this case!

The use of the (made up) word

"noo-cue-ler"

for the (correct) word

"nuclear"

Why can't any of his handlers get it through his head that it is glaringly INCORRECT to use that term, lo these many years into his presidential term?

I'll never understand it.

He's not the only one who uses it, of course, but he's got to be the very worst offender, since he is at the pinnacle of his career, the highest job in the land. The President of the most powerful, most wealthy, most educated country on earth, and he can't even say the word "nuclear" correctly.

"NOO-CUE-LER" is not the word!!!!

it's pronounced:

NOO-CLEE-ER

or

NEW - CLEAR

Say it...100 times out loud, Mr. President...or write it on the chalk board 100 times, please. It can't be that hard to teach this simple little word to a man at such a high and distinguished position as yours, can it?


There! I've said all I want to say on this matter. This is still an English speaking country (at least for the moment), and I really wish that we would all pull together and try to clean up this one little aspect of our grammar.

Thanks for getting this far into this personal pronoun rant of mine, and I won't bring up this subject ever again. I promise!

Cheers!

10:20 am - 23 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2