Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad

Happy Anniversary, Mom & Dad!

I'm not exactly sure just which anniversary it is, but it's been either 63, 64 or 65 years of wedded bliss that my beautiful mother and father-in-law have been married today. Since their first-born, my Paul, was born in 1945, I'm guessing they were married 2, 3 or 4 years before that happy occasion. But whatever the real number is (and I'd have it for you, but I didn't want to hang up my webtv phone line to call them to find out definitively!) it's been a good long time, and I am here to say Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad!

Being married to the same person for well over 60 years is a feat. But for them, it didn't seem hard at all. They are like two peas in a pod. They go everywhere together. They've been retired now for about 25 years so since that time, it's been both of them all the time going thru life as if "joined at the hip." I'm not sure I could do it as graciously and lovingly as they are doing it. I like my independence - my personal space - my down time from the world. But Mom & Dad Crowell are such special people, and they are an inspiration to all who know them.
Paul is very lucky to have both his Mom and Dad still here with him...so many don't by the time they get to be 60 or so. My dad died back in 1978, and my Mom in 2001. I'm hoping his folks live many more years to come, because now that they have moved up here to Massachusetts, we see them quite often and enjoy their company enormously.


Emma and Whitby are growing much closer now as "sisters" at Crow Cottage. Whitby doesn't seem to be as jealous of Emma as she was at first. And Emma is feeling more at home every day. Just today, she discovered "Squirrel Nutkin" who regularly frequents the back deck when there are goodies out there for him. Paul's folks (who from here on out I will refer to as Mom and Dad, since they are the only parents I have anymore) had given us some of their strawberry plant, a few rootings, and I planted it in a large pot on the back deck. We've had so much rain lately that I haven't really tended to it out there, figuring I didn't need to water it at all. Well, there are quite a few strawberries growing on it now, and Mr. Squirrel Nutkin has only just discovered it today! He had fresh strawberries for lunch, and Emma was plastered up against the sliding glass door watching attentively.


Paul has been fishing almost every day lately, but is planning on having the boat hauled out either tomorrow or the next day for his annual bottom work. Now that he has a fiberglass boat, the annual maintenance only takes a day or two at the most, and back in the water it goes. In the old days, when he had a wooden lobster boat, it was out of the water for weeks on end getting repairs made, sometimes extensive repairs that had gone undetected whilst sitting in the ocean. But fiberglass boats are a lot less maintenance-intensive!


I finally have learned how to make real English Fish 'n Chips! The recipe came to me from my friend Bill D. who lives in Yorkshire. Out of the blue, he sent me by e-mail a recipe for his Auntie Bessie's Batter - for fish. I went to the store and got the ingredients yesterday as I had some fish to fry that Paul had caught, and I made up a batch of fish 'n chips last night that were just about perfection! I've been trying to do this for years and years!

Thanks, Bill!

I guess he won't mind if I share the recipe here with my readers, so here it is.

Auntie Bessie's Batter for Fish

(no quantities were given to me, so I just winged it)

- Self-rising flour (about a cup)
- Vinegar (about a cup - I used apple cider vinegar but I'm thinking that malt vinegar might be best)
- Salt (about 2 TBSP)

That's all the ingredients Bill gave me, however, I added one tiny thing to my recipe:

2 beaten eggs

Mix the self-rising flour with the vinegar until soupy and batter-y. Mine was quite thick, like glue, so I added water, but now that I've thought about it, I think a little bit of

Bottled Beer

would work well in this and give it some fizz!

Add some coarse salt to batter.

Heat vegetable oil in a heavy skillet or deep fryer (I don't know temperatures, but until it appears to be real hot!)

I dipped the fish pieces first into the plain self-rising flour, and then into the egg wash, and then into the batter where I coated them real good. Drop the battered fish pieces into the oil carefully.

In a few seconds, the fish will float to the top and get all puffy. After several minutes (maybe 10-12 or so) the batter will get a light golden color and will be hardened a bit. It's time to take them out and drain on a paper towel.

They were so good. Fish was just right inside, and not oily at all, and the batter turned into the most perfect puffy crust.

Then, I was making some steak-fries (chips in England) in the oven - these were the frozen kind (McCain's) and I thought, hmmm, I wonder if they would be better fried in the oil since it was all hot anyway... so I tried it, and dumped them all in the oil, and after about 10 minutes in there, they came out, were drained off, and they were the best chips (fries) we've ever tasted! Wow, I can't believe I now know how to make authentic British Fish 'N Chips!

Once again, thank you, Bill!


Better go now. Dogs are late getting their din-dins, and they are starting to nudge me in that direction.

Catch you all later on.

Cheers,

Bex

3:28 pm - 27 June 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2