Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Ides of April

THE IDES OF APRIL...

[Before you read this, I have to say...the whole while I was typing this entry, I thought today was April 15th! Duh! It's the 16th, I now know, so this whole entry is stupid...but I don't have the time now to go thru and change it all, so just pretend today is the 15th, and you should be fine...]
Is there such a thing? No, of course not...it's called Tax Day now. And true to form, my husband has put off filing his State Income Tax Return until the very last possible minute - today, the 15th of April.

We used to file joint returns until one year when we realized we'd each make out better if we filed as "Married Filing Separately." Since that year, I have had to figure out my own State and Federal tax returns. It wasn't too bad this year because I just kind of copy along from last year's forms, entering the new numbers that are appropriate for this year (or rather, last fiscal year, as the case may be). But that first time I did it on my own, which I hadn't done in about 17 years, was tough. Taxes have changed over the years and it took me a while.

Anyway --- when I came downstairs this morning, a bit later than usual because I was awake almost all night after a really horrible dream made me very uneasy, I found him sitting at the kitchen table, forms spread out all over the place, and gently mumbling under his breath various unintelligle words probably directed at the bureauocrats who designed our tax laws.

Speaking of tax laws, I wholeheartedly go along with Steve Forbes and support the flat tax idea. Don't ask me to expound upon that support, because I don't know enough about it to really discuss it. But even though I am NOT - REPEAT, NOT - a republican, and never will be one, I like Steve Forbes. I think he is a very wise man and if he ever ran for President again, I'd vote for him. In fact, I think I may have voted for him in a prior election once...can't remember. But I like the guy a lot. And I like his ever-constant support of a flat tax...

Except if it means that I will have to pay the government MORE money than I am already paying them...

...then I won't support it!

Today is also Easter, and it's Passover, too, I think. I do not belong to any organized religion, so I don't know enough about either holiday to make friendly conversation, but to everyone reading here who celebrates any kind of religious or financial holiday today...

... Happy Holiday!

I like April. Not just because it's my birth month. I actually don't much go in for "birthdays" as a rule. They only remind me I have one less year to be alive. Growing older has no appeal to me. My body tells me constantly that it's getting older by the minute. But after seeing the beautiful birthday cake that my friend, Ava, made for her sister recently, I now have it in my head that I want cake. I haven't had cake in over a year, and seeing that coconut cake Ava made has made me yearn for one too (I don't really like coconut, but I can work that out). I think I'll dream up a celebration of some kind, in a week or so, so I can make a cake...and I want a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, too. Paul hates chocolate, and that way, he won't eat the leftovers!

Maybe I'll invite his parents over to celebrate our new dog, Femalee/Emmalee (she's called Femalee now, but we plan on changing her name to Emmalee - just because....). A week from today, she'll be all settled in to life at Crow Cottage, probably wondering what happened... one minute she is living a nice rural life on 1-1/2 acres in Tennessee, and the next minute, she's a city-slicker dog, with a tiny 1/4 acre yard and a big furry sister whom she has never met before! Poor little thing. I can't wait to bring her home!

And one more thing, before I go.
Have you ever worn off the white letters on your computer's keyboard? I have. And it's driving me crazy. I have worn the white letters off of three keyboards in about 4 years. But this latest keyboard I bought, a Logitech wireless keyboard, lasted even less time than the others. I love it, don't get me wrong. I use it every day for work, but so far I have worn off the letters "N", "L", "S", and "D" - I don't look at the keyboard while I am typing so it's not that I need to see where to put my fingers, but it drives me nuts to see those black keys looming up at me when I do glance down... so I have stuck tiny labels on them, covered with tape, so the ink won't wear off too.

I just thought I'd mention that to you... it looks so hokey to me having little labels stuck on the keys of my keyboard, but then no one is really going to see it but me, anyway.

I was just wondering how common it is to wear off the white letters (and/or numbers) from one's keyboard?

Guess I've fooled around here long enough for one Sunday. I have work waiting for me upstairs, and I must get to it...maybe wear off another white letter on the keyboard...

Cheers, and happy Spring!

Bex

8:33 am - 16 April 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2