Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take Me Out To The Ball Game

TAKE ME OUT TO THE BALL GAME!


Fenway Park
Boston, MA



Katie Casey was base ball mad.
Had the fever and had it bad;
Just to root for the home town crew,
Ev'ry sou Katie blew.
On a Saturday, her young beau
Called to see if she'd like to go,
To see a show but Miss Kate said,
"No, I'll tell you what you can do..."

Take me out to the ball game,
Take me out with the crowd.
Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jack,
I don't care if I never get back,
Let me root, root, root for the home team,
If they don't win it's a shame.
For it's one, two, three strikes, you're out,
At the old ball game.

As you may know by now, I live just north of Boston, Massachusettes. I have become a die-hard fan of our Boston Red Sox baseball team this year - my husband has been a lifelong fan - yes one of those long-suffering fans who have endured year after year of disappointments come October in Boston.

But now we have another chance - we are going to the World Series - and it all starts here in Boston tomorrow night!

We, here in New England, have gone thru a few weeks of sleepless nights, nail biting days and night games, watching Our Team go from highs, to lows, and back to the all time high of coming back from a 3-0 loss to the New York Yankees in the American League Championship Series, to winning the next four games in a row to take the Pennant!

I don't have to tell you how unbelievably happy and excited this has made us - the faithful fans of this wonderful Red Sox team!

Here is a

History of Fenway Park

for anyone who would like to learn more. It's a very special place.

I used to live only a few blocks away from it as a young woman.

In 1967, on the very day that the Red Sox won the Pennant at Fenway Park - I was innocently driving thru Kenmore Square (which is where Fenway Park is located) on my way to my first apartment away from "home" with my mother. We had no idea that the ballgame was just finishing up, and we hit the crowds surging out of Fenway Park - The Sox having just won the American League Pennant.

We were stuck there in solid traffic - in a sea of crazed with joy fans - for more than an hour. It was a day I will never forget.

It's 2004 now, and we've done it again, and the St. Louis Cardinals have done it, as well, for the National League.

Yes, the "Red Birds" will be coming to Boston to play the "Red Sox" on Saturday!

It's the battle of the REDS!

So it's all about BASEBALL here at Crow Cottage these days. It'll be the best out of 7 games. I hear the Cardinals are one super team, so it'll be a long and hard fought battle, no matter who wins the BIG ONE!

Boston fans have been heard to say lately that just beating the pants off the Yankees was good enough for us... and that no matter WHO wins the World Series, we are just happy with our performance in New York! This will sustain us, no matter what!

Go Red Sox!

Cheers,

Bex

10:17 am - 22 October 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2