Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Best Part of Christmas

The Best Part of Christmas...

...since I hardly bought any gifts this year, is not having to owe the money to anyone at my credit card companies.

It was a good, quiet, Christmas here. We made the pizzas and, as usual, they were superb. I got no pictures of it, though. I did not decorate the pizza to look like a Christmas tree, either. Sorry. I did get a few snaps of family, but haven't uploaded them yet. Will do that another time.

All I asked for, I received (which wasn't very much), just a few DVDs which is what winds me down after work. We love calendars here, in fact we are nutty about them, especially calendars with photographs of England/Yorkshire/Collie dogs on them, and we got quite a few between the 2 of us of those.

I made a pretty decent roast beef dinner last night, but it almost didn't happen. I'd bought the roast of beef about 3 days before and put it in the freezer, figuring I'd defrost it on Christmas day.

I forgot all about it being frozen. At 4 p.m. I went to get it out to start cooking it, and it was as hard as a rock in the freezer. Thanks to modern technology, I microwaved it on very low for 30 minutes to thaw it out, which worked very well, and I roasted it with potatoes, red onions, and carrots, and it was really pretty darn good.

No big spread though.

I'm getting a jump on my New Year's resolution this week. Today, in fact. I'm cutting out the junk (yet again) from my diet, and hopefully, by next Christmas, I might be a more comfortable and normal size.

Hopefully.

That would certainly make Paul happy, and I know it would make me happy.

One of the DVDs I'd asked for was "All Passion Spent" based on the novel by the same name, written in 1931 by Vita Sackville-West. It stars Dame Wendy Hiller, one of my all-time faves... and it was such a great flick (I watched it last night from beginning to end.) I have had the book for ages but had never read it. Now I may read the book. For anyone who doesn't know, Vita Sackville-West was a romantic partner of Virginia Woolf, and she also owned "Sissinghurst" - a magnificent large country home in England that is known for its wonderful gardens that Vita planned and executed with her husband.

But right now, I've just begun a new book. I've had this book also for a long while, but I had loaned it out to my friend, Mary, recently, and she read it and loved it, so upon her recommendation, I'm finally going to read it myself. It's called "Poganuc People" by Harriet Beecher Stowe, published in 1878. This is "...an enjoyable novel based on Harriet Beecher Stowe's childhood in Litchfield, Connecticut..." and also is a "...vehicle for the expression of her mature social, political and religious philosophy... full of local color, vividly portrayed characters and rich descriptive passages..."

I had Paul throw out the remaining half-box of chocolates someone gave us, because I'd already gone thru way too many of them and, if I am ever going to change my eating habits, I can't have random chocolates in the house! So, sadly, they are history.

Now I have to look into buying a new computer as mine has become old and obsolete - so that's my next big move. I wish you could just buy one computer and, if you are really good to it and take good care of it, as I try to do with mine, it would last a lifetime. But things aren't designed to last "a lifetime" anymore...

...except maybe true love.

Cheers,

Bex

1:22 pm - 26 December 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2