Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cooking Up A Storm

COOKING UP A STORM

It's 10:40 a.m. and I've just spent the last two hours preparing dinner for company tonight. We don't entertain all that often so, when we do have guests for dinner, it's a challenge for me to cope, and to pull it off without losing it.

I don't know how people throw dinner parties for a big crowd. I can't do it. Having two for dinner just about wipes me out. I worry over it for weeks prior to The Night. I hope and pray I've chosen a menu that will please everyone's palate, and will make them glad they came. It's a crap-shoot though!

The thing is -- we have this nice new kitchen, well, it's a little over a year old at this point -- and it seems a shame not to do more fancy cooking in it. I do the obligatory supper every night - we NEVER go out to eat - and I have to say that I will try the occasional fancy cuisine out on Paul - sometimes it's successful, but sometimes it's good for a laugh.

For the most part, I think that the old "kitchen devil," who lived in the previous kitchen, is gone for good now. Every now and then I will have a goof-up, and I'm known to blame him for it, when I know, down deep, that it was my own stupid fault. I think we exorcised him once and for all when we gutted the kitchen back in 2003. He had been there for the entire 16 years prior to that - I have no doubt about that. And he caused me many unhappy moments trying to cook in that tiny kitchen.


It's not the world's most beautiful kitchen, by far! But it serves us well and I'm happy we did it.

I've just put together my stuffed cubanelle peppers in sauce. We'll have pasta with them and salad, and crusty rosemary bread. Simple fare, and all vegetarian.

I used the chickpeas (garbanzo beans) in the stuffing mix for the peppers, instead of the meat, and by gum, I think I've done it! A quick taste of it was more than mildly pleasurable to the palate, so I'm feeling pretty confident that my friends will approve.

If they don't, I'll just blame it on that old Kitchen Devil - they know all about him from past years!

Cheers!

Bex

(P.S. - Thanks to LA-The-Sage for the maps below...they are kind of fun, huh?)

10:38 am - 02 January 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2