Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEE-LISH-US!

DEE-LISH-US TREATS!


Want to score some points with your canine roommates?

I've been making these scrump-dilly-ishus treats for my two collie dogs now for a couple of months, and let me tell you, if you want to score with your dog(s)...make up a batch for them real soon!

These cookies are almost good enough for humans -- the first time I made them, my father-in-law came by and grabbed one and popped it in his mouth quick-like-a-bunny! I cringed, but in the end, he said, Hey! They're not bad!"

Needless to say, they ARE for the puppies in the house - they don't contain salt or fat except what's in the peanut butter, and I use Chunky style! They love them, and they love me all the more when I make them their favourite treats!

3 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 tsp. baking powder
1-1/2 cups milk
1-1/4 cups peanut butter
1 TBSP. molasses

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Combine flour, oats & baking powder in large bowl.

Using food processor or blender, (or your bowl and mixing spoon) mix together:

Milk, peanut-butter, and molasses until smooth, and add to dry ingredients.

Using your hands, (I use my KitchenAid Mixer) knead the ingredients together - dough will be quite stiff.

Roll out to 1/4" thickness and cut with cookie cutters

OR (and this is what I do)

Form dough into small balls, like meatballs, and place on cookie sheets (ungreased).

Press down to flatten with fork one way then the other, like human peanut butter cookies.

Bake for 20 mins. or until lightly browned.

Then turn off oven and LEAVE the cookies in the oven until they have all cooled... (very important to make them harder).

Store in airtight container.

These cookies don't last long...
The puppies love 'em to bits!


Happy Baking!

Cheers
Bex

3:20 pm - 15 November 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2