Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a sucker I am!

What A Sucker I Am!

This is a friendly warning to any of you who are using Splenda or sucralose.

Read this site...go ahead, read down thru the testimonials. I just have done so, and am in shock.

http://www.mercola.com/2000/dec/3/sucralose_testimonials.htm

I have recently been interested in detoxifying my body. Seriously. I never thought that my recent use of Splenda has been poisoning me, but now that I connect the dots, it HAS.

I've been only using a tiny amount of it in my cup of tea each morning - so up until last week I hadn't noticed much wrong.
Then I got kind of depressed at not being able to lose weight very quickly... having been on a low-carb way of eating now for about 3 months and only losing 14 pounds so far. I figured Splenda was the answer to my prayers...being formerly addicted to sweets like I was.

Well, last week when I did my weekly shopping, I got Paul's regular ice cream and saw one in the case called Carb-Smart ice cream... now that I remember it, it had "Made with Splenda" on the cover. But since Splenda had become my new best friend, I went for it. I hadn't had ice cream in ages... so I got the butter pecan ice cream and took it home.

The first night I had some of that ice cream, I knew I was "cheating" really, but I just wanted a small treat. That night I got bad stomach pains. I attributed it to gas... the next day they were gone.

A day or two later, I had some more of that stuff. I also now remember that lately I've been getting "hot flashes" like I used to get regularly when I went thru menopause years ago now. At first I attributed it to the warmer weather we were having, but that was still unusual. Then I've noticed that the fronts of my thighs are bright red a lot, and burning hot, and the other day I walked into work and Nancy said "Wow, your face is so red...did you sit out in the sun?"

I never sit in the sun.. I get sun poisoning from it.

Now I am connecting the dots.

So the next time I ate that ice cream...sure enough I got the "gas pains" real bad for a few hours... and went to sleep. In the morning they were gone. Hmmm, I wondered if it was the dairy I was having a reaction to, since it had been ages since I've had any milk products.

Well, the last time I had the ice cream was a few days ago, last week. This time, after I got into bed, I got the worst "gas pains" I've ever had. I seriously thought I would die in the night - they were so horrid. They would come in waves of pains... and subside for a few minutes... and come back again. This went on most of the night. In the morning they were totally gone.

That was the end of the ice cream so I haven't had any more.

I also haven't had the bad gas pains either...

BUT, I did buy some fresh strawberries from the market and I poured Splenda all over them because they were not very sweet naturally and they tasted so much better bathed in Splenda.

I just had that tooth pulled recently, and couldn't eat regular food, so the night I had the tooth pulled, all I had for dinner were those strawberries. My mouth felt like a desert, and they were cool and sweet in my mouth. The "hot flashes" have been coming more and more lately, and my legs are still burning hot. I'm sure now it was the Splenda on the strawberries.

I am throwing out all my Splenda tonight. And I hope this story (which isn't' a "story" but true) will inspire any of you who may be using this deceptive product, to look into it more and see for yourself.

The ingredient of chlorine in it is what scares me so much. I have been trying so hard to get healthy, naturally, and now I find I've been poisoning myself - who needs enemies?

I just hope that by stopping it now completely, things will heal themselves and I won't have any lasting effects from it.

Oh, there is also a web site now called http://www.thetruthaboutsplenda.com that you may want to take a look at.

Forewarned is forearmed, I always say.

Cheers,

Bex-the-Duped

9:33 pm - 13 June 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2