Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fabulous Friday

Fabulous Friday...

I think I love this day the best of all the seven.

Friday.

I have to work on Fridays, but I don't have to actually finish my work. It's not due back to the office until Monday morning, so the pressure is off, and after a week of deadlines, this day feels so relaxed to me. Here I am, writing in my journal, when normally at this time of the afternoon (around 1:20 p.m.) I would probably be fighting thru Salem traffic going to the office right now to drop off my work.

I really can't complain about my schedule, though. This is the least stressful job I've ever had. I work at home, and can make my own hours, just as long as I get my typing done on time. All my other jobs were at an office building of some sort, sometimes in a hospital where we had no windows, and there were four ladies crammed into a tiny room about the size of a ladies' room. Tight squeeze, and no fun at all. Also, phones were always ringing, and I hate answering phones. Most of my life I've had a job where it was my job to answer the ringing phone in the office, and I don't miss that at all now.

So this Friday, I am just now enjoying a bit of quietude after a week of worry, anxiety, and rushing around.

Paul came home yesterday afternoon from hospital. He felt kind of crummy too, which worried me a bit. He thought he'd caught a cold in there (not unusual). His ears were blocked and his head felt stuffy. They also made him breathe into a tube (to ward off possible pneumonia?) I'm not sure why. He didn't have to do that after his first operation 2 weeks ago. Anyway, he said he's a bit better today. Still not up to speed, but hey! he has no thyroid at all now, so maybe his body is trying to compensate!

We have another one-week-post-op checkup at the doctor's next week to see what kind of thyroid hormone replacement medication he will need to be taking for the rest of his days.

I hope we can afford it.

It was frigidly cold this morning when we left for the hospital at 6:30 a.m. so he could have some bloodwork drawn. It's still quite cold here, but the snow is slowly whittling away in the sun, and they are saying it will be 50 degrees by tomorrow or Sunday. Lovely... for January!

Then we are in for a "nor'easter" on Tuesday or Wednesday. But I am, once again, thankful that we are both here at home and don't have to battle rush-hour traffic in those conditions.

I'm really looking forward to retirement in several more years, but I'm just not sure about the money-factor. We've tried to save (Paul more than I) for retirement, and Social Security doesn't really look too promising - they'll probably cut it out completely the year before we're ready to get it.

Guess we'll just have to stop living the high life that we live now. (Heh).

My big spending sprees consist of extra cans of dog food in my shopping cart, and maybe a package of special treats for my darling collie-girls!

How did I get off on this tangent? I dunno... I really have to get back upstairs to my typing - I'm only halfway done with it for today, but like I said, I can finish it up tomorrow if I want... that's why I just love these Fabulous Fridays...

Cheers,

Bex

1:17 pm - 27 January 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2