Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Making Some Progress

MAKING SOME PROGRESS...

I did it again, I lost a long journal entry in here. My own fault though. So here is an abbreviated version.

Some pictures of the progress on our dining room floor. We ripped up a strip of wall-to-wall carpeting that went from the kitchen over to the front door, right along the side of the dining room. Now it will all be one oak floor. (Click on pictures to enlarge)

Photo #1 below shows the floor after Paul ripped up the old carpet, and then removed the underlayment plywood, exposing the original floorboards. You can see right down into the basement thru the cracks. Emmalee, my ever-present floor inspector, is just doin' her job.

The next photo shows what it looked like after the floor guys had installed the new oak floor in the foreground and after this they sanded the whole floor down to bare wood.

The next photo shows after they had sanded and then stained it with the "English Oak" stain. Not too dark but not quite so light as it would have looked had we not stained it (which was the original plan).

And the last photo was taken yesterday, after the floor had gotten a coat of "English Oak" stain plus one coat of a sealant poly. Two more coats of poly are to be put on, one of which they are doing at this very moment (and the fumes are starting to get to me). The last coat hopefully will be applied later today or tonight, and then the whole floor will finally be done.

I know you can tell that part of the floor is new and part is old, but there will be an area rug in the center of the room, underneath the dining room table, and also I have to go out and buy a runner rug to go on the new section, because our dog, Whitby, refuses to walk on bare floors! Something about slippery toenails and paw-fur. Anyway, she prefers carpeting and vinyl flooring to bare wood floors.

I will be very happy to get my house back in order. All the dining room furniture pieces had to find homes throughout the rest of this cramped cottage, and we now have two tables in the breakfast room (where we eat all our meals) and it's none too pretty, let me tell you!

I can see me doing a lot of hoovering this weekend!

Take care. I don't want to lose this entry again! I may just "save" it before I go.

Cheers,

Bex

1:51 pm - 19 January 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2