Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Roll out the fun

Roll out the fun...

I'm on vacation!

Just finished my work for the week and officially, this is the start of two glorious weeks off for me.

Not for Paul...just me. We only take concurrent vacations on the years we go to England. On the other years, he doesn't take a vacation at all. He just works every day, rain or shine, either lobstering or repairing and/or building gear for lobstering. Sometimes he repairs his boats, sometimes he gets old traps back from being thrashed around in the open sea, and they all need constant repair and maintenance. So even on days he doesn't go out, he has work to accomplish.

Not to mention the list of home improvement projects he has at any given time.

Like the stairs! No, they are not done yet. In limbo, is more like it. He did stain most of the newell post, though, and paint the ballusters white with prime paint. But he still has to stain the handrail, and then assemble those three items onto the stairs. Which I know he is putting off because he's nervous about screwing it up.

He also has the floor ripped up in front of the stairs where he plans to install flagstone tiles, but that, too, is a worrisome task for him..so that, too, is on the back burner.

That back burner here is awfully crowded!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Check out this Eagle Nest Web Cam when you get a chance.

We've been watching this nest for three years now. It's in Kent, Washington - high up in a tree. The mother eagle's name is "Star". She has a mate who only shows up now and then to babysit in a tree branch nearby when Star is out getting food. However, I haven't' seen "Dad" for a while now. Star is the main care-giver for her brood.

The cam is live, and it "refreshes" by itself every few seconds or so. (You may need to do a "refresh" manually). I can see one baby eagle that must have hatched not too long ago. I thought she had two of them, but now I'm only seeing the one. Early this morning, and even earlier there (3 hours time difference) I saw Star gone from the nest, and then she was back with food in her claws (talons?) picking at it and gently feeding it to the babe. So cute!

The first year I watched this nest, the two eggs were never hatched, or they were hatched dead... the second year (last year) there were two babies, and we saw them get quite big in that nest. But I think I heard that they did not make it in the end. That's the only down side to watching... when something bad happens to the babies.

So Star has another baby now. I guess getting an eagle to live thru puberty is difficult in the wild.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I just discovered we get C-SPAN-2 here on our cable TV. I never knew we had that channel! They carried the British elections live yesterday and last night and I watched a lot of it. I love the way they do elections. So forthright and regimented. All conforming to set standards, even down to reading out who won each election in each area. That's one of the things I really love about my second home - England. The way the whole country conforms in things. For example, you can drive anywhere from down south in Brighton, all the way up to the north in Scotland, and the road signs all over the country look the same. They are easy to read and to follow, and even a dummy can't have too much trouble driving around anywhere in Britain. Here, a body could get lost in downtown Salem trying to find the ocean thanks to the crazy systems of road signs.

"You can't get they-ah from hee-ah" is so appropriate here!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Well, now that I'm a woman of leisure, I'm going to wind down, let my brain chill out after a day of strenuous medical typing, and just relax for a bit. I have some plans, and I may be back here again to fill you in, if any are interesting enough.


Take care friends.
Cheers,

Bex

1:16 pm - 06 May 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2