Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things that go bump in the day

Things that go bump in the day...

Looking at my life, I see speed bumps.

All around me.

I'll go a day or two without a hitch, and then...ker-plunkh! A speed bump! Oh, that hurts. Shakes me right out of my mundane existence.

It's autumn here in New England, and on the exterior, all is right with the world. I am so sensitive to outside temperatures, that summers are really hell for me. I love this cool weather now, and having the windows open, my hands a little cold, but that's OK. I can listen to the cacophony of birds outside in the woods, they must be preparing for winter. They are loud and wonderful to hear.


For the last year and a half, for some reason, I have become a huge baseball fan. For 19+ years, I've been married to another huge baseball fan - Paul has loved this game his entire life. His brain is a mini-encyclopedia of baseball trivia and statistics. He eats it all up. But for 18 of those years, I've ignored the games and was quite happy in my ignorance of it all.

Until last summer when, at some point and for some reason, I just fell in love. And it was way before the Red Sox were really in contention for getting to the World Series. I never thought they'd make it. Red Sox fans are hearty, tough souls. We go thru such highs and lows all season long - it's emotional roller-coaster from Spring to Fall. The Sox like to tease us, and they play well for a while, and then slump into nail-biting slump-dom... our poor heartstrings are yanked this way and that til they are ready to snap!

But miraculously, last year we went all the way...we won the World Series for the first time in 86 long years. It was heaven for "us" fans. I liked being one of them, and I learned so much last year from Paul. Poor guy. Not a day went by when I didn't have a load of questions for him about the game of baseball. I was learning from scratch, and he has taught me so much at this point.

When Spring Training rolled around this year, I was so excited. Now I know what Paul has been going thru all these years.

I get it now!

I have cheered for them and cried for them. I have sat thru some long heartbreaking games this past summer with the Sox. I love 'em now more than ever. Some individual players I wasn't always crazy about, but I'll take the good with the not so good... some of them have been traded so I don't care about them now... that Bellhorn went to the Yankees for gawd-sake, and he just hit against us today for the first time, and flied out! Ha!

We just now qualified as a Wild Card team and are going to the playoffs again this year. We play the Chicago White Sox on Tuesday night.

Last year, we were a Wild Card team too... and you know where that led...

They're my team now... Manny-being-Manny, Popy, Jason, Bill Mueller, Millar, Johnny, Graffanino (my money's on him for the future), dear Trott, Edgar Rentorria (you rock!), Gabe (get well soon!), Kevin Y (glad you're back), sweet Mirabelli (oh, I love him to pieces), Olerud (he's an unsung hero IMO). And the boys on the mound, god-bless-em: Wake, Matt, David, Mike T, Bronson, Curt (yes, even though you supported Bush, if you can win us some games, we'll cheer you on, too!), Myers, Foulkie (where are you? we miss you buddy! get well soon!), and the "glue" - Terry Francona and his crew, as well as all the rest that my overloaded brain won't recall the names of right now, but whom we love just the same... We're here right behind you all - watching, cheering you on, and praying you make this another banner year!

Go Red Sox!

Cheers

Bex

5:05 pm - 02 October 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2