Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here today...

Here today....

Oh man! My hill... taken before the Big Bang this afternoon




and gone tomorrow...

the same hill moments later, AFTER the Big Bang...






I happened to be sitting here just as the Big Bang went off, and as I turned my head to look over at my fast-dwindling hill, I witnessed a huge mound of earth and rocks blasted up into the air and plumes of white smoke billowing up after it, and then the pile settling into a mound.

I'm calling it the Seborrheic Keratosis of Leggs Hill Road.

Seborrheic keratosis because that's what the pile of rocks and dirt looks like to me... a form of skin cancer that needs to be "excised and debrided back to a clean bleeding surface" (as they say in the surgical field).

Now the yellow digger with the giant arm will be busy every working day picking up and moving all that blown apart debris, to make way for the gawd-awful yuppified boxes that they will be building atop my hill.

My poor, beautiful, lonely hill - that gave me so many moments of happy gazing... will be just another neighborhood one day. But winter is fast approaching, and maybe it will get too cold soon to build, and I'll have my misshapen hill for one more winter before it disappears completely to my eyes.

Cheers (for winter) and Jeers (for progress),

Bex

7:10 pm - 20 December 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2