Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday Saturday

Saturday...Saturday-Saturday
Saturday...Saturday-Saturday
Saturday...Saturday-Saturday
Night's Allright....

I love a Saturday.

It's a freedom day. Even though I work usually every Saturday morning, that's just finishing up my Friday's typing. Once that work is done, and it's usually only about 2 hours' worth, I take it over to the office, pick up my work for Monday (which I will spend most of Sunday doing) and I'm home free for the remainder of the day.

I don't worry about work, don't think about work, and don't do any more work, except for "fun" work... like making soup for supper!

I just made up a big batch of creamy tomato-basil soup. Here's my recipe, in case I haven't already bombarded you with it before. It's just so simple and SO YUMMY!

- 2 large cans italian whole peeled tomatoes
- Cream of your choice (today I used about 2 cups of a mixture of light cream and half-and-half).
- Chopped scallions (about 5) or chunks of onion (1)
- a handful of fresh basil (in the produce section in a clear plastic container).
Salt
Pepper
Herb/garlic mixture
Red pepper flakes
Extra Virgin Olive Oil (1/4 cup)
~~~~~~~~~
Put tomatoes, basil, olive oil, onions in a food processor (you have to do one can of tomatoes at a time or it will overflow) and pulsate on high for 20 to 30 seconds. (Do second batch the same).

Heat the cream in a large dutch oven or pot on the stove until just starting to bubble.

Add tomatos to the cream and heat up.

Add salt and pepper to taste, along with the other seasonings.

Cook on medium heat for about 10 minutes stirring so as not to burn on the bottom.

Eat or transfer to a container and keep in the fridge for another time.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream on top.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I've had our National Public Radio station on all afternoon. I don't particularly like listening to a fund raiser, but today they are playing Celtic Christmas songs, and they are just lovely. All very different tunes and artists - a nice way to kick the season into gear.

I also put up my little 3-foot Christmas tree (oops! I learned today that "Christmas Tree" was definitely politically incorrect - they are now to be referred to as "Green Triangles" - I chide you not!)

So I put up my fake 3-foot high "green triangle" today. I keep it all decorated all year long. After the "Holidays" it gets placed (gently, of course) into a black trash bag and brought down into the basement where it lives all year. I bring it upstairs around the first of December, all decorated, all lit, and ready to go. I clear my little table off, and plug it in.
Now I'm much more in the mood...

I wonder -- if we called it "Tanenbaum" rather than a Christmas Tree, do you think we'd pass muster with the PC'ers?

Anyone want a cup of tomato soup... with some buttered rosemary herb bread on the side?

Cheers,

Bex

3:26 pm - 03 December 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2