Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kids!

Kids!

(Or rather, in my case, DOGS!)

My two girls are so unalike it's scary. From afar, they look similar. Sort of. They are both "rough coated collies" for one. They both have a long pencil-thin snout, and long bushy furs, and four legs and a bushy tail.

But that is where the resemblance ends.

My girl Jasmine Rose, the elder of the two collies, is sweet, reserved, polite, sensitive, laid back, and basically a quiet sort of lassie. She loves to snuggle and get fur-rubbies, and burrows her long thin nose into a person's crotch whilst all the time getting ear-rubs. She could stay like that for hours if allowed to do so.

Jazzie is one perfect dog.



Click to enlarge photos





Oh, she may not look like a show-dog. She is what they call a white collie, although she does have colors on her head, but nowhere else. All the rest is white. She is elderly, too, and is falling apart at the seams, so to speak, as most elderly souls do in their time. She has arthritis, and fuzzy eyeballs. She has pills to take for urinary incontinence, and eye drops every day for her eyes, and pain pills to take for her sore old body. Her back end is failing fast lately, and she has a heckuva time being very mobile on her own...once she is up, she can stumble around, but getting up is difficult. She's the sweetest soul in the world, though, and seeing her deteriorating like this is very hard for us.

When I give Jazzie a treat, such as a cookie-bone, she will hold it near her for maybe hours on end...just waiting for the right time to enjoy it. She is not a glutten, as "some others" around here are. No, she has never gobbled down her food or even begged for treats. She takes what she's offered with grace and quiet thanks, and eats it in her own good time.

~ ~ ~ ~

Now Whitby, on the other hand, is a whole 'nuther story!

Whitby is the "young'un" of the dogs. She's 6 years Jazzie's junior, and is all pepper and sass.

She came into this house like a small tornado, only 10 weeks old, sniffing out every nook and cranny, making them all her own. She ran me ragged for a good year after we adopted her, and because of that experience, I don't think I'll ever want to adopt a new puppy again. I just don't have the energy. An older dog will be our next adoption, hopefully.

Whitby is a glutton. She probaby picked that up from me, because that's how I see myself most times, even though I am now on the road to eating a lot better and have actually lost a total of 20.5 pounds as of this date. But our Whitby lives for treats.

She is a very fluffy collie dog they call "sable." She has large patches of golden colored furs, and large patches of white, with some black interspersed around her head and collar areas. She looks more like a "Scottish" collie than an "American" collie to me. Her ears don't stand up like Jazzie's do, they softly flop over and you can hardly see them. She has the sweetest face, and eyes that make you melt. But behind that "sweetness and light" facade is a conniving, greedy, selfish personality. I'm not saying I don't love her to pieces, because I surely do...completely and utterly.

It's just that, as I sit here, watching the two of them in their respective areas of the living room, Jazzy is sitting quietly by the cookie that I gave her earlier, and Whitby is hovering...trying to figure a way to steal Jazzie's cookie. She already stole the first cookie I gave Jazz, earlier. Naughty dog! I got another one and put it next to Jazz's bed, and she's over there sniffing it now and then, ruminating over it, trying to decide how long she'll wait to devour it, whist Miss Whitby, on the other hand, with darting eyes, constantly looking over to make sure that cookie is still there and conspiring with herself just how to snitch it from Jazz.

That's basically their life here... one dog totally selfless, and one dog totally self-absorbed. A lot like people really.

I love both dogs so much it's scary. Never having had children, they get all my attention, and Paul gets what's left over, I suppose. But he's a grown man and can make decisions and fend for himself, if necessary. The girls are totally dependent on us and our good will, and I will never default on that responsibility. They both will get 110% of all the love I have to give, whether or not they deserve it in the end.

I am one lucky momma to have these two angels, and I know it. I don't know how anyone can live without a "pet" to share their lives. I never could, and I hope I never will have to.

Cheers,

Bex

7:20 am - 29 July 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2