Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Know It's Kind of Late...

I KNOW IT'S KIND OF LATE...

I just had to tell you this little true story.

The night before last, I was asleep in my bed. The dogs sleep on the floor of the bedroom. It was warm and Whitby had been restless. Emmalee sleeps the whole night thru with no problems.

It was around 2:30 a.m. or so. I was in a deep sleep, dreaming. Dead to the world. But I had fallen asleep with my headphones in my ears, tuned to the Red Sox station where I had been listening to the game earlier. After the Red Sox game is over, the station plays "oldies" songs.

So the stage is set.

It's dark.

About 2:30 in the morning.

Paul is sound asleep.

I am sound asleep.

Emma is sound asleep on the floor.

Unbeknownst to us, Whitby is awake and restless.

She comes over to the side of the bed where my arm is dangling out from under my duvet, and she licks my hand....

The lick slowly brings me from deep sleep into slight consciouisness...

At the very same second I came into slight consciousness, and with my eyes still closed shut on the world, and Whitby licking my hand, I suddenly heard in my headphones Jim Croce's voice just beginning this song - singing these words:

Well, I know it's kind of late

I hope I didn't wake you

But what I got to say can't wait

I know you'd understand

Ev'ry time I tried to tell you

The words just came out wrong

So I'll have to say "I've gotta pee, Mummy," in a song


Yeah, I know it's kind of strange

But ev'ry time I'm near you

I just run out of things to say

I know you'd understand

Ev'ry time I tried to tell you

The words just came out wrong

So I'll have to say "I've gotta go OUT!" in a song.

Ev'ry time the time was right

All the words just came out wrong

So I'll have to say "Now, Mummy, I've gotta go OUT, NOW!" in a song

Yeah, I know it's kind of late

I hope I didn't wake you

But there's something that I just got to say

I know you'd understand

Ev'ry time I tried to tell you

The words just came out wrong

So I'll have to say "Come on! I need to pee!" in a song.


Honest to God. (My brain heard the stuff about her needing to go out, but the words to that song seemed to just fit what she was thinking, and it couldn't have been orchestrated more perfectly.)

Just then, Paul was standing in the doorway, and I thought he was a spirit come to haunt me. I looked up and asked if he would take them out...he said yes, he was doing that, and I fell back to sleep and into dreamland.

Was that funny, or what?

Cheers,

Bex

6:19 am - 16 August 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2