Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last Sunrise

Last Sunrise

The picture below was taken at sunrise on the last day of the year 2005.

Not a particularly spectacular shot, but the only one that presented itself to me that morning.

Now it's all water under the bridge. The year 2005, with all its catastrophes, misery, and ineptitude, is but a memory, and good riddance to it. Not that there weren't some good things that came out of it. There were.

Like the fact that Paul and I connected with his cousin, Ed, whom he hadn't seen or heard from in several decades. This has proven to be a promising friendship, and we only hope to build on it in the coming months and years. Living 1,000 miles away from one another was the main reason, I suppose, though these days, with instant communication abilities, there really is no excuse for not keeping in touch.

Yesterday, I had an email from a very old friend whom I haven't seen (in person) in probably 18 years. Pam. We used to work at the same hospital way back before my life with Paul was even a glimmer. In the '70s. When Pam and I were both single gals, and we hit it off as soon as we met. She worked in Medical Records and I worked in Radiology. We saw each other daily, and connected immediately. But then time took its toll. She married, and I married. She had kids. We had dogs. She bought a house in New Hampshire. We bought a house in Massachusetts. We've only seen each other, I think, once in the 19 years Paul and I have been married, and that was when her kids were tiny tots. They are probably either in or out of college by now, I just don't know.

Anyway, she emailed me yesterday to see if we couldn't make a date to meet and catch up. That sounds like a good idea, Pam! After Paul's surgery is overwith, lets do it!

I spent the first day of 2006 working. So what else is new?

Paul spent the first day of 2006 also working, another no-brainer.

Today is another working day for both of us, as I didn't quite finish my typing yesterday. Even though I worked most of the day at it, I did other things, without the pressure to get it all done and back to the office that night. So today, I only have a little to type and I will be done until Wednesday when the work week will begin again.

Paul has been scurrying around the ocean, loading up 30 traps on his lobster boat at a time, and bringing them in for the winter. He's trying to get all this extremely heavy work out of the way before his operation - doctor's orders - no heavy work for him for a few weeks. He'll get to start and probably finish some of the several books Santa brought him for Christmas.

So that's the news from Lake Crowbegone. Not much new to report, except that a new couple of inches of snow has fallen and we are supposed to get 4-6 more inches of that nasty stuff again this week, but since we're near the coast here, it may be more slush/rain than snow. Time will tell.

So I'm off to do a load of laundry, go down and check my webtv for emails, and open up my dialog with the outside world. Keep warm, or in the case of my friends on the left side of the country, stay dry if you can. Let's all see if we can make this new year a really good and memorable one, OK?

Cheers,

Bex

7:53 am - 02 January 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2