Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winter Marches On

Winter Marches On...

So.

Christmas has come and gone once again.

Good. Now I can put away all my Christmas-looking stuff. Get the house back to its normal boring decor again. And maybe push the vacuum around. There are fur-clusters living in all the corners of Crow Cottage, and each day they seem to multiply in size.

That's Paul with his Mom and Dad on Christmas Eve above. We had a nice evening with them at their pad. We gave them the stockings in the picture at the top with their names embroidered on them. They were filled with all sorts of treasures I found at Whole Foods which, despite the outrageous prices on their products, I just love. I only go there for specific items I can't find anywhere else. If I were rich and had no money worries, I'd shop there every week for all my food items. They have so much more than just food, though. I gave my mother-in-law a lovely essential oil diffuser with candles, and a bottle of lavender oil that I got there. If you've never been to one, take a day off sometime and go just to explore their aisles. But bring money!

And here are my first ever pork pies.



I planned on making only the one, but after I chopped up all my veggies in the food processor and added all the pork, there was a huge bowl of that mixture and I'd conveniently bought 4 pre-made ready-to-go pie crusts, so I made the extra one and will freeze it.

If anyone wants the recipe, I'll include it here. I looked up recipes on-line, and in my own cookbooks here, and this pie is a conglomeration of all those recipes - so it's really my own now.

~ ~ ~ ~

REBECCA'S PORK PIE

2 pie crusts per pie
1 lb pork cutlet meat chopped fine
5 or 6 pork sausages chopped fine

1 red onion chopped fine
2 stalks celery chopped fine
5 carrots chopped fine
3 peeled potatoes chopped fine
2 peeled chopped Granny Smith apples

1 elephant garlic clove chopped
Seasonings, including nutmeg, allspice, sage, salt, & pepper.

Sautee all of the chopped pork in some olive oil until browned, and set aside. Season pork mixture as above (the nutmeg and allspice really make it special). (Remember, the pork sausage has seasonings in it already)

Sautee all of the chopped veggies until just slightly cooked, about 5 or 10 mins.

Combine the pork and veggies & apples.

Grease pie plates and place one pie crust in pie plate. Spoon in the meat/veggie mixture almost to the top. Cover with second pie crust, and crimp edges closed. Cut a small hole in the center for the steam to escape.

Brush the top of the crust with a beaten egg-wash.

Bake at 380 degrees for 30 mins. Loosely cover pie crust with foil so it won't over-brown, then lower oven to 325 degrees and continue baking for 1 to 1.5 hours.

I was pleasantly surprised at how good this came out. We had it last night again, and I have so much leftover, we'll be having it all winter I think! Just serve it with a nice green veg, like asparagus or spinach, or even homemade cole slaw like we had last night.

And above all, enjoy!

Cheers,

Bex

7:54 am - 27 December 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2