Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

STATUS MEDICALIS

STATUS MEDICALIS

So. I now know what an MRI is like.

And I hope I am never forced into having one - ever again!

I got to the MRI center, or rather, as the doctors emphasize when they are dictating the name of it "THEEEE MRI Center" a bit early for my appointment yesterday. They said to be there at 3 for a 3:15 start time. They said I'd get right in, and it would only take 22 minutes. So basically I wasn't really all THAT nervous about it. Also, since I was having the MRI done on my right knee, they said I wouldn't be all the way into the machine (which is open-ended on both ends, BTW.) and that my head would be outside. I am slightly claustrophobic.

OK. So as per my usual routine, I got there about 20 minutes early, at 2:40 p.m. Rather than sit in the car, I thought I'd go and wait in the office of The MRI Center and maybe, just maybe, they'd take me early. That had happened last Friday when I had my bone densitometry scan (and mammogram) - they took me the minute I arrived which was about a half hour early! Different place though.

I had MORE questionnaires to fill out (do these things ever end?) and that took all of about a minute and a half. Then I settled into my chair to wait, hopefully not for long.

After about 30 minutes, it started to become apparent that they were running late. They didn't have a clock, and I don't own or wear a watch, so I have no idea how long I waited. The two ladies at the desk did let us all know that they were "running a little behind" and to please bear with them.

Anyway, I'd say it must have been about 4 o'clock before I got in there. Got my johnny on, and into the room with the machine.

Onto the sliding bed thingy, and my knee encased in a holder to keep it still.

Yeah, right.

Headphones for my ears (thankfully) but a radio station in the headphones playing rock music (BLECH!) was worse than the noise from the MRI machine! No choice either.

If I ever have to have another MRI, I'm going to the North Shore Magnetic Imaging center next time... it's not far from my office, in fact it's right down the street from THEEEE MRI Center, AND they let you bring your own CD's to play into the headphones!

I mentioned that I kind of have restless legs and that they move all the time... but no one seemed to listen to me.

"Yeah, yeah, yeah...just lie still and DON'T MOVE one millimeter! If you do move, I will have to do that series over again!"

Yikes.

My knee is killing me... they've got it strapped down, and my ankle turned just so it hurts even more, and they tried to flatten it on the table, but the problem is that my knee right now won't flatten out! They even put sandbag weights on it (ouch!) when it turned out that I had moved during one of the sequences (I SWEAR I DIDN'T MOVE, BUT SHE SAID I DID!) I was almost afraid to breathe the whole time...

I was so tense, and freezing, and afraid to breathe for fear of moving my knee... it was all just too much. Plus, the pain in my knee was moving upward into my thigh and zapping me in the sacroiliac area of my spine...really bad near the end.

I almost raised my hand (like the dentist always tells me to do if I have pain) to get them to STOP THE STUDY, I WANT TO GET OUT! But I somehow gritted my teeth, prayed like mad for the end to come, and finally, about 20 minutes later, it did.

When she came out and pulled me out of that monster, I had pains from my right calf, all the way into my spine... plus my leg was almost paralyzed from trying to hold so still for so long.

I don't know HOW anyone does an hour of that! I know I never will - no way, Jose!

That was my first and last MRI!

(I hope! I pray! Pleeeeeeze God....)

I got my films in a big white envelope marked M R I all over it, and came home and studied them. Have no idea what to look for... it was all greek to me... do I have a tear in there? Or cancer? Or a fracture? or what? I tried looking online for a "normal MRI image of the knee" so I could compare mine with it...but it got late and I had to get supper going, and then I had to work last night til after 10 p.m. cuz we are so busy at work lately. Tonight too.. I'm really tired and cranky...and today when I stopped on my way home from the office at MacDonald's to get the dogs their weekly treat (2 cheeseburgers - plain - at $1 apiece) I got myself a medium sized iced coffee - WITH caffeine in it! I need the energy push for a long night of work ahead, and at this point I'm just about running on empty.

Next up? Friday at 10 I see my PCP again, so she (or rather her nurse practitioner) can go over all my results, lower the proverbial boom on me, and lecture me about making lifestyle modifications, etc.

I am NOT going into an aquatics exercise program (no way would I go into public in a bathing suit - even if I HAD one!) and I am NOT having any painful studies like EMG and nerve conduction studies, thank you very much.

We'll see if my doctors can diagnose me the old fashioned way without painful methods, because I have enough day-to-day pain - I don't need any added-on pain in my life.

Cheers,

Bex

3:02 pm - 29 August 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2