Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Old Gray Mare

The old gray mare, she ain't what she used to be.....

I have to say, it's so much fun getting older. No, really. If I didn't say that, and try to convince myself of the truth of it, it would be sad - really sad.

In my youth, I moved my body like a fine-tuned athlete. I took dance lessons, toe and ballet and tap. I took acrobatic lessons (now called gymnastics). I did solo toe-dance performances on stage. I played sports in school, not great, but at least I had fun doing it. I was a runner for many years. I'd go up and down with my weight, but compared to me now, I was always thin... although you couldn't have convinced ME of that THEN!

I moved around. I had lots of different jobs, lived in several states, and I've even had two husbands.

I am a homeowner now, have two fantastic collie dogs, and a husband who is second to none. So I have to say that, all in all, I have been blessed in this life. I'm not rich monetarily, but I am rich in other ways that count more.

There's just one catch to all this nicey-nice....

I fell yesterday and I hurt my knee and leg! Ouch!

Over the last 20 years, since my second marriage really, I've been physically going downhill. I used to run 7 miles a day - after working 8 hours, too. I was in my best shape ever back then, oh, around 1986. But (re)marriage changed all that for me. I had new responsibilities, and my husband expected me to be here and to prepare his dinner every night...which, as most women know, takes some prior preparation if you want to do it right. So my running time got cut out of my schedule, and has never returned.

Naughty, that was.

Now I can hardly get this old broken body from one room to another.

I tripped and fell yesterday morning, down into a room that is one step below the kitchen...it seemed like I was falling a mile, and when I hit in a crumpled heap, I felt it. My right knee was bent and I fell right on that leg/knee...I had a bad knee there before, but now it's so much worse. Today all my muscles in both legs have stiffened up. I didn't break anything, and I know I didn't tear anything, so I feel extremely grateful for small favors.

But I hurt all over still, and I just wish someone would come breezing thru my door and take care of ME!

I've been upstairs working all day which isn't bad until I have to get up from the chair and do stuff. I need to move around more so's my leg won't heal up stiff like this.

Anyway, I just needed to vent that and you were there.

Guess I'll go back to my regularly scheduled life now, and hopefully I won't slip and fall again any time soon. With Thanksgiving less than a week away, and me making dinner for us and my in-laws, I have things to do, places to go, food to prepare, etc., etc., etc. It just never ends for a woman, does it?

There's no rest for the weary... or the battered and bruised.

Cheers,

Bex

2:08 pm - 18 November 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2