Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One Down, one to go...

One down, one to go...

Holidays, that is.

It's the day after.

Thanksgiving.

Actually, we had two thanksgivings here, as probably many other families have had...and by that I mean "leftovers" - you know... you pull out all the plastic containers in the fridge that contain yesterday's leftovers, line them all up on the counter, and spoon out individual servings of everything you ate yesterday onto a dinner plate, spoon a little gravy onto everything, and pop each plate of food separately into the microwave for a few minutes on high til it's all hot and yummy smelling again. Then you sit down and shove it all down your throat for the second day in a row... when you promised yourself yesterday that you'd only do this just this once and then get back to your diet tomorrow.

Fat chance.

We did the above procedure, and I'm full - again!

And all those plastic containers in the fridge are still half full!

Anyway, now comes the Christmas thing. Like a locomotive roaring down the tracks, look out! It'll be right on top of you in no time at all and then whop! Your money will be all gone, and then some...lots if you're not careful.

Me? I'm being careful this year. I used to go nuts at Christmas, spending money I didn't have, owing everyone and his uncle for months or years afterwards.

Not any more. Whatever I buy now, I pay for now.

My new leaf.

My best friend and I have started a tradition that I think is working out great. We both have a gazillion books in our homes - books that we just can't bear to part with - but rather than spend what little money we have to our names, we have decided we would each choose one book in our personal library and send it to the other one (we live 1500 miles apart). That way, the only money spent will be postage on a book. And neither of us has to make room on our shelves for another book, since neither of us has ANY room anyway...we just put the Christmas book in the spot where our book came out of.

I wish everyone would do that with Christmas gifts. Each give up something of their own to someone else... and everyone would get something "new" but no one would have to spend more money.

(Oh, the merchants would love me right about now!)

The older I get, the more of a penny-pincher I am becoming.

With only a few years left until retirement age for me, there is not much time to save up for my "later years" and it's starting to scare me.

Needless to say, I didn't go out into the world today and wait in some idiotic line to get into a store at 5 a.m. like thousands and possibly millions did this morning. Are they nuts?

Instead, I got up early, drove over to the next town and deposited my little paycheck, and came home and putzed around all day and had a very pleasant day off for myself. A day of no work! It was lovely, too. The only typing I've done today has been a few e-mails to friends. Period.

Well, that's my rant for today. I hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving, and can enjoy some leftovers in the days to come.

As for my friends overseas, hey, I heard somewhere that all of England, Scotland and Wales was covered in snow recently? Is that right? How much did you get? It must be so beautiful up in the North Yorkshire Moors, my favourite place on earth, right now. Oh how I'd love to be there, in the snow, on the top of The Chimney going down into Rosedale Abbey...with all of Rosedale covered in snow. Now that's a lovely picture to keep in my mind right now.

Cheers,

Bex


7:14 pm - 25 November 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2