Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One Project Down...

ONE PROJECT DOWN...

We have finally finished redoing the dining room floor. Hooray. It wasn't so bad, thinking back on it. They came on Wednesday morning, put in the new wood floor section, then sanded the rest of the room to bare wood, then came back on Thursday and put the first coat of sealant on it. Friday they returned mid afternoon to put the 2nd coat of poly on it, and then around 5-ish they returned again for the final coat of poly.

It came out great, and just what we had in mind.

I went out Saturday and got 3 new rugs to spiff the room up a bit. One for under the table, and a runner and a small scatter rug for in front of the door. We have to have rugs for Whitby as she doesn't do bare wood floors well anymore.

So here you go, the last of the floor photos. We haven't got all the furniture back in there yet, but only the buffet and an old chest of drawers and a tall thin hutch are waiting. Paul has to redo the baseboards. Some wouldn't fit after the old rug came up, and others need painting. The final touches are what takes the longest!

The oriental style rugs are different colors and patterns, but that's ok..I like that. Too much matchy-matchy is not "us". We are not fancy here, but we do like how these rugs spiff up the room.

Been doing work today, mostly. And some laundry, etc. The usual Sunday stuff. I watched a little tennis (Australian Open is on) and rooted for Andy Roddick (although I used to not like him so much, I'm changing...). I was very saddened to hear Amelie Mauresmo (my fave) lost in the first round to a 17 year old who was not well known at all. Amelie was the defending champ, too!

Then I made a banana bread as we seemed to have an overabundance of ripe bananas, and Paul likes a little banana bread now and then.

I got the majority of my work done for tomorrow. Only one more folder to go (about 2 hours' typing) so that's taken a load off my mind.

Still no sign of winter, except for high winds and cold... but that could be any time..even fall. No snow yet, not that I want any, but I sure hope it doesn't wait for April to get here!

Cheers,

Bex

4:38 pm - 21 January 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2