Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Something to do with sea scallops

SOMETHING TO DO WITH SEA SCALLOPS

Every now and then, I make a dish that far exceeds my capabilities as a cook. This is one of those dishes that I stumbled into and made for Paul last night. Luckily, there was enough for 6 people, and since we are only 2, we have two more dinners left out of that one dish. So, here's the scoop on my

SEA SCALLOP CASSEROLE
A LA CROW COTTAGE


Ingredients:

2-3 lbs sea (large) scallops (* See below for the story on how I came into possession of such a precious item as this)
1 cup dry bread crumbs (3/4 cup for the mixture and 1/4 cup for the topping)
1 cup Ritz cracker crumbs (3/4 cup for the mixture and 1/4 cup for the topping)
1 cup butter (3/4 cup melted, and 1/4 stick in cubes for topping)
1 cup frozen peas
1 can cream of shrimp soup
1 cup sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees C.

In a large bowl, and holding out the 1/4 cup each of bread crumbs and cracker crumbs and butter for topping, combine all other ingredients (including the 3/4 cup each of both kinds of crumbs) above in a large bowl.

Lightly grease (spray) a long shallow baking dish.

Pour scallop mixture into greased dish. Sprinkle top with remaining bread crumbs, cracker crumbs, and then dot with butter all over the top.

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes, uncovered (place baking dish on a foil-lined cookie sheet in case of drips)

Let cool about 5-10 minutes and serve.

Serves about 6.


* Now, for the story behind the sea scallops!

I love these little babies. But they are usually so expensive that I don't buy them - instead, I'll buy a pound of bay scallops which are the tiny ones. Not nearly as fantastic as the sea scallops though.

One day I was looking over the fish at the fish market in the food store, and saw that those lovely big sea scallops were selling for $4.99/lb. I nearly wet my pants! I had to shake my head clear and look again! So I ordered up 3 pounds of them before anyone could get in front of me, and then changed that to 4 pounds. I could freeze them! I felt like I'd just hit the lottery!

When the woman behind the counter gave me a weird look, I just said "I haven't seen sea scallops at that price since I was a kid, so I'm just stocking up!"

She started scooping up my order of them, and weighed them out and packaged them and priced them for me. $20. What a bargain! After I'd taken them from her, I noticed she was shaking her head, and then she pulled the sign out of the bin that had the price on it, and realized it was the wrong price! I think that was the price for the tiny bay scallops, but someone had gotten it in the wrong bin! Lucky for me! They had to sell them to me for that price, but she very quickly got the correct price put onto the sea scallops, which was something like $13.99 per pound!

So, you see, if everyone at Stop & Shop had been doing their job properly that day, I wouldn't have had 3 lbs. of sea scallops left in my freezer yesterday, and I wouldn't have thought up this new recipe for this unbelieveably delicious casserole, and I wouldn't be sharing it with all of you.

So, if you are lucky enough to come by a few pounds of fresh sea scallops (frozen are fine too, as I learned!) try it some night when you have the chance...or to impress company. It was to die for... and I can't wait now until we make another meal of it, and then another, later on in the week!

But tonight, it's the codfish that Paul caught in his lobster trap yesterday for dinner. Plain old Fish 'N Chips A La Crow Cottage... but I won't bore you with the recipe for that, because I haven't perfected it yet.

Cheers,

Bex

4:13 pm - 07 June 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2