Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sharing the Wealth...

Sharing the Wealth...

I have an on-line friend, Bill Dobson, who lives in my favourite part of the world - Yorkshire, England. He has a web site (he actually has three, but this is his current one) that I have been enjoying immensely, and I just wanted to take this opportunity to share it with all of you, as well. If you like good photography, especially landscape photography, and are at all interested in the many faces of England (especially the county of Yorkshire), then go ahead and click the link below and enjoy.

http://www.billspics.co.uk/

Just click to activate the "map" and then move the arrow to any of his links on the map for a page of his photos of that region.

You will see how diverse Yorkshire can be... going from some of the wealthy and opulent looking stately homes, to a little village called "Dent" in the Yorkshire dales, is a study in contrasts.

We loved Dent. Paul and I visited it one year, and found a pub that served gourmet fare the likes of which we had not found before (but the likes of which we have since found in many other country pubs around England). I cannot remember the name of the pub, but if you are ever in Dent, I think it is the only pub there! Great food!

Late Addendum: I heard from Bill today re: the pub, and I quote:

"Rebecca, the Sun Inn in Dent is a painted outside walls�building, the other pub is called the George and Dragon and is in the usual stone! Bill.... p.s. Both are known for food although I have sampled neither."


Thanks for the info, Bill!

From the photos Bill has taken, you would think that everyone in the village had up and moved away! It is spotless, and people-less. I often have wondered that about the little villages we have driven through in England. Where are all the people, anyway? In the larger towns and cities, of course, people are everywhere, coming and going, but in the hundreds and hundreds of little villages dotted all across the countryside, you almost never see people walking around outside. I can just picture them all cosily living inside those stone walls, maybe with a fire going in the fireplace, tucked up like a bug in a rug.

Well, that is all I have for now. I just wanted to share these with you.

Thanks Bill, for doing them, and for keeping me apprised on the state of things in my very favourite spot on earth - Yorkshire (especially Rosedale and Whitby!).

One last thing, Bill has two other sites you might like seeing too and they are here:

http://www.billspics.cambsnet.co.uk/

http://www.myyorkshirephotos.co.uk/

Cheers,

Bex




8:17 am - 27 November 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2