Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sharing a New Recipe

SHARING A NEW RECIPE

I'm wondering if maybe I should make another Journal under my name called "Recipes" - because I do enjoy sharing recipes with you now and then. I don't know if I can have a separate named journal under my one gold Diaryland membership. If anyone knows, please fill me in?

The following recipe I have just made for the first time this morning. We are going to supper at our friends' new house in Marblehead tonight - it's a housewarming supper really since we've never been to their new house yet, and I offered to make a vegetarian dish since Bill is a vegetarian. I chose to make a tortilla pie which I'd never made before, but now that it's all prepared and ready to pop into the oven later today...I really think it will be a great dish. So here's the recipe - not hard to do.



TORTILLA PIE

Ingredients:
2 15-oz. cans PINTO BEANS, rinsed & drained.

1 cup SALSA, divided into 1/4 cup and 3/4 cup

2 cloves GARLIC, minced

2 TBSP chopped fresh CILANTRO

1 15-oz. can BLACK BEANS, rinsed & drained.

1/2 cup chopped TOMATOES

8-inch FLOUR TORTILLAS (1 package contains 10)

2 cups shredded CHEDDAR CHEESE

1 cup SALSA (to serve at the end)

1/2 cup SOUR CREAM (also to serve at the end)

~ ~ ~ ~

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F, or 200 degrees C.

In a large bowl, mash pinto beans & stir in 3/4 cup of salsa & garlic.

In separate bowl, mix together 1/4 cup salsa, cilantro, black beans, and tomatoes.

In a deep pie plate or dish, place 1 tortilla on the bottom.

Spread 3/4 cup of pinto bean mixture over tortilla to within 1/2-inch of the edge.

Top that with 1/4 cup of shredded cheese.

Cover with another tortilla.

Spread 2/3 cup black bean mixture and then top with 1/4 cup cheese.

Repeat this layering until you get near the top (the recipe says to repeat this twice, however, I had a lot of bean mixture left, so I kept going until it was all used up and I reached the top of the dish which was about 3-inches high)

Cover with remaining tortilla, and spread with remaining pinto bean mixture and top with cheese.

Cover with foil. Bake in preheated oven for about 40 minutes.

Cool a bit, and cut into wedges and serve with salsa and sour cream.



Doesn't that sound yummy? Who needs meat with all those high protein beans and cheese. I spared no expense in the ingredients I used for this pie since it's for my very special friends, Margaret and Bill. I used "honey wheat" flour tortillas, and the cheddar cheese was from the specialty shop, was made in Ireland and is extremely tasty - just ask my dogs who helped with the cleanup!

The salsa I got in the Natural Foods section of the grocery store and is organic and a bit pricey too - I used "mild" salsa because Bill has trouble eating onions, so I didn't want him to get ill from any hot spicy food.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they will love this pie. I already know that I will! As for Paul, he has lost some of his ability to taste things since his radioiodine treatment, but then again, even before all that happened, he never could smell things properly (and therefore I believe his taste was affected) and that is, in my opinion, due to his long years of working in close proximity to the "bait barrel" on his lobster boat. The odor given off by the gutted fish that he uses for bait (especially the "pogies"!) is horrendous, and I believe it has caused his smeller to malfunction. So that, in combination with the radioiodine treatment, has left him with a decreased ability to enjoy the taste of foods. He says the only things that taste normal to him now are peanut butter and coffee flavored ice cream, but it has gotten a bit better over the last couple of weeks, so maybe there's hope for him yet!


Well, my week's holiday is at an end now. I drove over to the office at 6 a.m. today to pick up my work for Monday (which this week will be Tuesday due to the Memorial Day holiday on Monday) and there was a lot of typing in my cubby-hole! So, now that I have my pie all assembled and in the fridge waiting to bake it later this afternoon, I'm going to head upstairs and get some of that typing out of the way. I have three days to get it done, so I'll pick at it from now until Tuesday.

Back to the old grind, heh?

First I think I'll get my American Flag out of the closet and put it on the pole next to the front door - for the weekend. It's the least I can do. We don't get much traffic on our little street, but the woman across the road is having a yard sale, so the traffic today has really increased. A flag would be nice.

Take care, friends.

Cheers,

Bex

8:49 am - 27 May 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2