Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spending Spree

Spending Spree

I've been telling myself "Don't spend it all in one place" all week - ever since I got my Federal tax refund check in the mail.

I know it's only money that I already earned, and overpaid to the darn Federal Government so's they could get the interest from it, instead of me...and I realize that it's totally stupid of me, but I've always loved getting that refund check at the first of the year after sweating out all that work doing my taxes, etc.

So this year I've been trying to figure out what I'd spend my 2005 Federal tax refund on.

There are so many things I'd love to buy. Books, CDs, groceries, dog food, heck, a dog!, and many other sundries. The world is a giant department store and here I have this check, from the Federal Government no less, to do with as I please.

Such a feeling of freedom, and sweetness, and light.

But decision, decisions...what will it be?

If I were Paul - my thrifty husband - I'd deposit it into a money market account at Fidelity or somewhere like that.

But I'm not Paul.

I'm me.

And just knowing that I have all this money to blow on my own selfish self is just revving me up several notches lately!

I don't want to bank it.

I want to buy something!

I've put myself on a self-imposed spending ban lately, because I was getting a tiny bit too in the red vis-a-vis my credit card, but now I'm digging out of it pretty good, in fact, in a few months, I'll be in the black again...which is really saying something for me... Yes, I'm the one who had to remortgage her house to pay off some overinflated credit card balances several years ago. That was not a pretty time. Lots of tears, and hand-wringing. Admitting to Paul the mess I'd gotten into - and then Paul not even being mad at me...when I had visions of him throwing me out of the house forever! It was sheer joy to realize I was married to St. Paul after all (even though I'd suspected it all along).

So, here I have this beautiful little piece of cardboard-type check from the Federal Government... the one who has been spending our hard earned money lately - by the gazillions - on wars, pork, greed, slippery politicians, more war...and on and on... they are giving me back some of my own money!

How cool is this?

I'm starting to narrow it down, though. Tomorrow I'm going to drive over to work which is very near a giant mall (in fact, it's in an area that has about 14 giant malls all bordering each other) so there's sure to be a good looking store I can pop into and spend to my heart's content on something really special.

Let's see... now that I think about it... there may be actually only ONE store over there that I can really go into and blow my wad of found-money...

and that would be The Dollar Store!

I've been meaning to go in there for a long time, and I've never been in one - ever.

Besides, I don't want to dip into my regular wallet money - or heaven forbid, use a credit card - I just want to spend the money I got free and clear from my Federal Government...

Yep, the Dollar Store it is!

Cuz in the end, my Federal Income Tax Refund came to a grand total of $1.65.

I'll get change back at the Dollar Store! Right?

Wish me luck!

Cheers for the U-S-of-A!

Bex

3:35 pm - 17 March 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2