Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday Stuff

Saturday Stuff

I'm hiding out today.

I spent an hour or so finishing up my Friday's typing. Then showered and dried off and went over to the office and met up with Mary and Ed who were there cleaning up the last remnants of junk from the old office (we moved from a large office to a smaller one next to the old one.) I always like running into Mary and Ed. They are so funny. Each in their own way. Mary I see every day (almost) at work, and we talk on the phone usually several times a day. But I only see Ed when he is with Mary at the office doing some little thing in there. She is a devoted employee of our company and I am really getting to appreciate her a lot. She's got a fabulous mind, she never forgets a thing! And she's 3 years older than I am! Incredible, really. I forget everything.

So, after that I drove the 8 miles back here but went on up the road to the Stop & Shop food market. I should have taken the clue when I had to circle for 15 minutes before finding a parking space. Oy! Christmas is comin'!

I wedged myself in thru the doors, took the next to last shopping cart in the store, and wended my way up and down the aisles of foodstuffs until my cart was almost toppling over with items. Paying for all that stuff wasn't too much fun either.

I got it home and had to make 4 trips up and down the back stairs lugging it all in.

When I first left the house to go to the office, I slipped on what looked like dry back stairs... not! There was an invisible coating of ice on them...I thought I was a goner! My right leg bent under me, and my foot went behind the tread (no risers) and caught me from going all the way down to the ground, about 8 steps. Whew... I was ok... saved again. I have gone down those steps (fallen) once, as well as all the other staircases in this house... and I've never broken anything - yet.

Must be my lucky day.

After I got all the food organized and put away (are you sleeping? HEY! WAKE UP!), I had my lunch, gave the dogs a snack, let them out to do business, put my work away, and came here and have been reading various things on-line for a while.

Paul is out lobstering. It's a really nice day actually. The picture you've seen of our snow is out of date. We had a whole day and night of wild rain, and it washed a lot of the snow away. The back deck is completely bare now. The front yard is about half snow-covered and half bare.

I can remember one winter here when we hardly got ANY snow all winter long?

Not lately, though.

I was listening to NPR early this morning, and the subject was Anton Pavlovich Chekhov - his plays mainly. I have never read his plays.





They talked about "Uncle Vanya" a lot, and I have seen a movie with Anthony Hopkins (was it called "August" ?) which I think may be loosely based on that play. I liked it. Anyway, it was very interesting. The guest was Lawrence Somebody (?) who has just done a recent translation of all Chekhov's plays. He told of how all the translations of Chekhov are so different, and it really depends on the translator as to what exact story or play you will experience.

I have never read one of his stories either (at least I don't think I have, but I could be wrong), however, I searched out a book I have here called "Short Novels of the Masters" and there is one story in there by Chekhov called "Ward No. 6" which I plan to begin today. That is, if no one disturbs my solitude for a while.

My friend Mary turned me on to P.D. James recently. She went in to Brookline (MA) to see her give a talk and then a book signing for her newest book "The Lighthouse" a week or so ago. So I found her first murder mystery "Close Her Eyes" on amazon.com and read it in 3 days (which is fast for me). Just finished it up last night. It was so good and now I am hooked, and plan to acquire more of hers.

But Chekov interests me, too. I had read Leo Tolstoy's "The Death of Ivan Ilych" and loved that, as well as Dostoyevsky's Crime & Punishment. I've tended to gravitate toward Russian stories and authors for some reason, as well as the Brits. I think I was related to both Russians and Brits in former lives, judging from the way I am drawn to them.

I always say that when you find you are very innately passionate about a time or place, it's probably because you lived there or then before.

I know I did.

Many times.

Many places.

Cheers,

Bex

3:26 pm - 17 December 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2