Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This and That

This and That...

Rocky the boating Squirrel has gone AWOL.

He did not manage to eat the peanut-butter bagel Paul left for him in the trap. He was not IN the trap when Paul checked it yesterday morning, and he's nowhere to be seen in the last day. Let's hope he is a savvy squirrel, knows what a trap is for from previous experience, and has vowed never to board Paul's boat again for fear of being relocated to some unknown neighborhood.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

As for life here in Crow Cottage, after two glorious weeks free of work, I am back at it again now. I picked up work yesterday, did some of my typing yesterday, and today I will do more.. getting a head-start on my Monday's work. I have a going-away party to attend later today for a lovely lady who works at our office. I hate to see her leave us. She fit right in with our group and we all will miss her very much indeed.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

As far as my holiday is concerned, my friend Sandy, from Iowa, flew here and we had a great visit for one of my weeks. If anyone is interested in our doings during that time, here is a brief overview of the week she was here:

Tuesday - Sandy arrived right on schedule in Boston, however, the Des Moines airport people managed to send her luggage to Minnesota instead of Boston! After having to sort that all out at the airport, she was informed her bag would be sent to Boston that night, and that someone would bring it out to our house later on... as it turned out, it arrived sometime between 3 and 5 a.m. and was left on the back porch!

Wednesday - We had a date with my friend Barbara, who will be moving to London soon for three years (lucky her!). We prepared a luncheon for the three of us "girls" and we had a lovely afternoon visiting with Barbara.

Thursday - It was quite hot and muggy, so we went to a local carpet store to check out some braided rugs I had a mind to buy for the living room. We spent quite a while in there pouring over the lovelies they had for sale, and found two that we both loved. One was perfect and I bought it and we brought it home and installed it in the living room. It looks home-made, which is what I was looking for, and it doesn't show the dog furs - which is another important benefit!

Friday - Another warm but sunny day, we took off early on a 30 mile drive up the coast of Mass. to the beautiful town of Rockport. We spent the day strolling round, going in and out of all the shops there on Bearskin Neck - it's quite the arts and crafts town, and we had a really nice day there. We ate in a Chowder House on the harbor, and Sandy found a few treasures to take back home with her. The drive was spectacular, as well. We took the old ocean sceanic route up there and back, and came home very happy and tired!

Saturday - it poured rain all day - remnants of hurricane Ivan - so we lounged around here in the morning, went food shopping, and came home and made a big mess in the kitchen making dog cookies! They were a big hit! Peanut-Butter and Banana cookies!

Sunday - We have a date today to entertain Paul's folks for dinner. Lobsters all around, corn on the cob, and generally a very nice day - Sandy was a huge help in tidying up the place, and I made a gigantic apple pie that came out perfect. I rarely make pies, but apple pie is one I CAN do! Mom and Dad showed up a bit early, and we weren't really quite ready for them yet, but they are cool, and we enjoyed our visit with them.

Monday - This was gardening day for us. I have a corner garden that had all turned to weeds, and I wanted to pull all the weeds and plant several sedum plants and some Mum plants I'd bought recently. Sandy jumped right in and between the two of us, we got the job done, moved a very heavy concrete garden "bench" over to another spot in the garden, and all in all, my little corner garden came out great. (Thanks so much, Sandy!)

Tuesday - The shuttle bus came at 10:30 to take my dear friend back to the airport, and so we had our coffee outside in the yard, and played with the dogs in the garden until he showed up. We said our farewells, had hugs, and parted after a good visit. I will miss her...

After that, I just crashed. I could have done a few projects I've been saving up, but I didn't. It was still MY holiday, so I needed to unwind a bit more, which is just what I did. Now it's back to work for me, and here we go on the treadmill of life all over again for another year.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Until the next adventure presents itself, that's all folks!

Cheers,

Bex

8:42 am - 26 September 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2