Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toe in the water...

TOE IN THE WATER...

The guilt is starting to gnaw at me inside... not making an entry in this journal for weeks on end, maybe even months... it's very rude, but then my life just seems so uninteresting that I never think anyone would be interested. However, I've just read Mz Em's Friday's Feast entry, and thought, I'll start with that. Maybe I can break the pattern.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Friday's Feast: A Buffet For Your Brain

Appetizer - Name something that makes you scream.

When I have a few free minutes to play online, and I sit down to type out something, the dogs will bark outside in their yard, and I must stop and go let them back in so as not to infuriate the neighbors! That drives me up the wall! (Although, I love those fuzzies so much that I get over it real quickly!)

Soup - Who is a musician you enjoy listening to when you want to relax?

Tim Janis, anything of his, on CD. Incredible.

Salad - What was the last book you purchased?

Wisemen, The Awakening by Levi Wayne
(From the book-cover: "A fast-paced, action-packed thriller that questions our perception of reality with every enchanted twist and turn. A paranormal mix of horror and fantasy unlike anything you've ever read. Begin your journey into the electrifying realm of the spirit world with this first in a series that is destined to fascinate and entertain time after time.")

The author of this book, Levi Wayne, lives in the same little town in New Hampshire as my boss, "E". "E" told me she consulted with him about some historic artifacts in her old New Hampshire colonial home recently, and from there I found his book and only have just begun it.

Main Course - If you could live one day as any historical figure, who would it be, and what would you do?

Dr. Alf Wight (aka "James Herriot"), practicing veterinary medicine in the North Yorkshire Moors and Dales in the mid to late 20th century.



Dessert - Tell about a time when you were lost. Where did you end up? How long did it take you to get back to where you were going?
This is why I chose to do this entry. This is the story I have to tell right here.

In another lifetime, around 1972 or so, whilst married to husband #1 ("B") and living in Bloomington, Indiana, "B" and I went out on a scortchingly hot and humid summer day to the countryside outside of Bloomington (where we were attending university) to check on our plot of land we had planted as a small garden. It was located way out in the woods, near the caves where we went spelunking regularly with friends.

We parked our car near the caves, and set out on foot, without any equipment or water. We had confidence - misplaced confidence - that we'd find it without a problem. Boy, were we wrong!

It was hot!

Indiana summertime hot!

We never did find our garden.

We got lost looking for it, and were stuck in the tangled forest of Indiana back-country. To make a long story short, we walked aimlessly for hours, eventually having to strip down to only our shorts, until we got to a point where I really thought this was the end of it for us. I remember climbing up a steep banking in the wooded area, and not being able to take one more step, the heat and pain was so great at that moment. But "B" kept pulling me along slowly.

When I thought we'd never see a human being again, or any type of civilization, we came to a clearing where there was a house.

We were saved!

It had been about 6 hours of wandering like this, the whole day had gone by, and we rushed over to that house, and turned on their outside water faucet to get much needed water into our mouths.

No one was home at the house! We didn't think we'd make it if we had to hike to find another house, but we tried it anyway, and found another house not far from there down the road. We had no idea where we were. The second house had people there, and we were in such a state (I'd put my teeshirt back on by this point, folks) that they all rushed around us, asked us into their home, and got us back to the living again.

It turns out we had hiked into the next county - and the people drove us back to our car near the caves, which was about a 30 minute drive by car!

I think that was about as near-death as I have ever come, and I will never forget that day as long as I live.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

"B" and I didn't make it as a couple in the end. We moved from Indiana back to Massachusetts in 1973, and were separated by 1976. We are still friends, though, and live within a few blocks of one another now.

Thanks, Emily, for jogging that memory for me, and enabling me to finally break the long drought here.

Cheers,

Bex

9:11 am - 27 February 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2