Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two Down...

Two down...

And none to go, hopefully.

Surgeries, that is.

It's after 8:30 p.m. on the day Paul had his second surgery in two weeks. Removal of the right lobe of his thyroid.

This was my day:


6:30 am Get up, get tea, go upstairs and type.

8:30 am Finish typing since I'd done most of it the night before in anticipation of having to take Paul to the hospital.

9:00 am Took shower etc and got ready for the day. It snowed about 4 more inches of snow last night too, so we needed to shovel paths around the sides and out front of the house. With dogs, you always need paths when it snows.

10:00 am Cleaned off my car. What a pain in the neck winter is! Got my shoes soaked, too.

11:00 am Drove Paul to the hospital and waited in the Surgi-Center for his folks to meet me there so we could all wait together.

11:30 am Paul was called to go in, and his folks hadn't arrived yet, so I couldn't go with him into the prep area like I did last time. ;-(

12:00 Got called to the desk - they said the folks were waiting for me in another waiting room one floor up (huh?), so I bundled up all my paraphernalia and traipsed upstairs to the Operating Room Waiting Area to meet his folks.

12:15 pm We brought our own lunches (subs) so we went down to the cafeteria and ate. Paul's surgery was scheduled for 1 p.m.

12:30 pm I needed to take my work over to the office (8 miles away) and pick up tomorrow's work, plus I needed to come home again and let the dogs out and in - so I left Mom and Dad there while I did all that.

2:00 pm Did all of the above, and got back to the waiting room with the folks. We found some nice sofas over near a huge window and settled in for the long wait.

3:00 pm We figured Paul had been "under the knife" for 2 hours already and were looking forward to getting to see him soon. Then a nurse came looking for us - she told us he had not even gone in yet! The doc had an unexpectedly long case before Paul, and it had run way overtime. But they said he should be going into surgery some time soon. She let me go back with her to the restricted prep area and see him. (I have lived with this guy for 20 years, and I felt like a newlywed seeing her groom - I love him so much and really don't like seeing him in a hospital johnny lying on a bed like that. I gave him hugs and kisses, and it turns out he was having a grand old time making friends with the nurses etc., back there. He had told them all about the dogs, our lives, etc...she knew more about me than I did!)

The nurse told us to all go home then. It would be too long to wait and I could check with the hospital later on to find out how things went. She said Dr. L, the surgeon, would call me at home and let me know how the surgery went.

3:15 pm We all left and I came home, let the dogs out and in, and went upstairs and began my long day's typing for tomorrow.

About 5:30 pm, I called the hospital looking for Paul. They put me on hold and finally said he was still in surgery. By now, I have a slight headache creeping in.

6:00 pm I called the folks to tell them I still hadn't heard anything. (They are very anxious about their "boy" getting his thyroid removed, understandably, and I wanted to keep them apprised of things.) No one was home. I hadn't heard from them at all since we said goodbye in the hospital. Now I am starting to worry about them!

7:00 p.m. I called the hospital again and basically get nowhere. He was not in a room yet, and they didn't know if he was even out of surgery yet! God! I'm starting to think about biting my fingernails at this point.

7:30 p.m. I finally reached Paul's folks by phone. They had been down to dinner (they live in a facility where they go to one of the 3 restaurants for dinner each night...all covered in the rent for their apartment). So I told them I would keep calling or wait til the doc called me, which was the original plan, according to the nurse.

(Meanwhile, all this time, I was typing medical reports upstairs but really worrying about all those whom I love).

8:30 pm - Finally! Dr. L. called. He said that Paul was actually out of surgery a little while ago, but that he (the doc) had some unfinished business on the prior patient to attend to before he called me.

He said that Paul's surgery went fine. Very well, in fact.

THANK THE LORD!

I called the folks, and filled them in.

I called the hospital to see what room he was in and his telephone number, but he isn't in a room yet! Maybe another half hour! So he's still in Recovery!

In another 2.5 hours, he will have been there for 12 hours already and hasn't seen a room yet!

So I will have to get his telephone number in a while, but right now, my eyes are popping out of my head from the stress and anxiety of this day. The dogs can't figure out why their Paul isn't here with them...and I'm feeling just a tad lonely myself, even thought most nights he's upstairs and I'm downstairs... just having him in the house makes all the difference.

The End...

...so far.

Good night.

Bex

8:38 pm - 25 January 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2