Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LONG VERSION, OR SHORT VERSION?

DO YOU WANT THE LONG VERSION, OR THE SHORT VERSION?

OK. I'll give you the condensed (sort of) version of the verdict on my knee MRI study. Have you got your thinking cap on? Remember, "arthropathy" means basically "arthritis", "osteo-anything" means "bony-anything," "edematous" means "swollen," "tendinopathy" means "tendinitis," and so on and so on. If you don't understand it, then look it up. But you will get the drift, I think.

RESULTS OF THE MRI OF MY (SORE) RIGHT KNEE:

- Tricompartmental degenerative arthropathy.

- Moderate relatively symmetric changes in medial & lateral joint compartments where findings include chondromalacia of articular and possible marginal fibrillation & advanced in the patellofemoral joint.

- A 3 mm loose osseous body arises lateral to the inferior patellofemoral joint.

- Mild distal patellar tendinopathy.

- Significant expansion and edema of anterior cruciate ligament, partial tearing and/or degeneration vs. bad ligamentous strain.

- Prominent marginal osteophytes arising centrally from medial & lateral femoral condyles exerting sidewall impingement on the ACL (anterior cruciate ligament).

- Mild proximal lateral collateral ligamentous strain.

- Three 1.5 cm ganglion cysts arising superiorly adjacent to the medial & lateral gastrocnemius origins & posterior to the central knee joint.

- Small to moderate joint effusion.

Actually, that was the short version, or what they call the IMPRESSION. The "Findings" portion of the report was an entire typed page, going into a lot more detail than the Impression.

I liked this line in the report -- "Advanced patellofemoral degenerative arthropathy with denuding of articular cartilage, subchondral sclerosis and cyst formation, marginal osteophyte formation and moderate lateral patellar subluxation."

God.

Also, "A 3 mm loose osseous body is seen to arise lateral to the inferior patellofemoral joint."

Where is it going? and how do I stop it?

I actually studied my MRI films before I got a copy of the doctor's report. It looked like quite a mess in there to me... things floating around, white spots here and there, muscle mass, bones, no space or cartilage between big bones... all to do with advanced arthritis.

And that was just one knee! I'd hate to read what an MRI of every other part of this old body would show up! Actually, someday I hope to have one done of my lumbar spine because I have major problems with that, and if I ever want to be able to walk again for any distance, I really need to address my lumbar spine.

But for now, I'm doing my little physical therapy exercises on my legs, and actually I am walking a tiny bit better. Not normally, but just better than before...a tiny bit.

I would never say "Hey, want to go for a walk?" to anyone at this point. It's all I can do to hobble into the kitchen from my chair in the living room just to get meals for this crew. And going up and down 2 flights of stairs every day multiple times with the dogs, etc., is challenging, to say the least. The other day, my foot slipped out from under me on the stairs while I had my arms full of purse, work bag, clean clothes, sneakers, and I almost fell down the stairs...but my leg (the right one of course) instinctively snapped back to catch myself, and that killed.....with pain....big time.
It hurts just remembering it.


OK. Enough about poor me.


Does anyone watch Grey's Anatomy? I am a late comer to this show, and have only seen maybe 4 shows in the last few weeks. Tonight is the new season premier, and I am so psyched! I love this show!

One thing I love about it is "Dr. MacDreamy" - natch. Patrick Dempsey has always been an unsung hunk, in my opinion. I'm glad he's out in the open now and is enjoying the fame he deserves. I like all the characters too, but the thing I like the most is the music - soundtrack. I just ordered the GREY'S ANATOMY soundtrack CD of the second series of this show and it came in the mail today. It's such cool music. If you watch tonight, listen specifically to the background music. It's just fabulous.

Another soundtrack CD I also just received today that I got from Amazon was from WONDER BOYS with Michael Douglas, Frances MacDormand, and Toby Maguire and Robert Downey, Jr. I just bought the DVD of that movie recently and watched it (for the second time) the other day, and really loved the music all throughout the movie. There are old Bob Dylan songs - and there's Buffalo Springfield, Tom Rush, Neil Young, Leonard Cohen, John Lennon, Van Morriso...etc. etc. What a lineup.

So I'm going to plug that CD into my CD player now and put my feet up and listen to it. So if you'll excuse me.... I'm tuning out the world now for a while.

With musical cheers,

Bex

2:41 pm - 21 September 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2