Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's Almost Winter

IT'S ALMOST WINTER!

Sorry I've been "gone" for so long. I'm having one of those infamous "dry spells" and can't, for the life of me, think of anything "you" would like to hear from Crow Cottage.

But just so's you don't forget who we are here, I thought I'd better jot a little something down, if only as a place holder, until the dry spell clears up.

I've been on an emotional roller coaster lately.

I don't enjoy the "Holiday Season" much. I am the proverbial "bah-humbug" type of person. It's way too much blown out of proportion for me, I don't like shopping or spending money anymore - all I can think about is that anything I buy is cutting into my retirement savings, and I need all of that I can get! In less than 10 years, I hope to BE retired from regular work, and I can see that my government is not going to be able to help me out with Social Security - the way it has promised to do - so I'd better keep squirreling away those dollars on my own in order to be able to pay the bills when I do finally retire.

So... that said... I had not planned to go to England next Spring. It's now been 2-1/2 years since we've seen England, and we miss it, a lot! Paul misses it even more than I do, as he is constantly reading our British monthly magazines (I just don't have the time for them) and is much more up-to-date on events there than I.

So, the other day I asked Paul if he minded me taking two separated weeks of vacation next year - one in June and one in October - as we don't go anywhere in our "off England" years. He said that, even though I hadn't planned a trip there, he REALLY really wanted to go to England next Spring. I told him I do not have the money... but he said he would pay for my share (we always save up our own share of the trips).

Well, then I got a little excited. OK. It's late to be hiring a cottage, or two cottages, but I went on-line and starting looking. I got a Yorkshire Holiday Cottages brochure and we looked all thru it for the perfect place to stay.

Then, in the midst of all this excitement, I lost part of a tooth.

That has changed everything.

I HAD to make an appointment at the dentist, a place I haven't gone for many years (I hate doctors of ANY kind!) and I found out from the initial visit that I will need a LOT of dental work in the near future, including losing that broken tooth altogether, and that it is going to cost me a pretty sum in the end!

There goes our holiday!

There goes our excitement!

And here comes Christmas, and I'm just not into it. I hate shopping, as previously described above, and haven't been into a mall at all this year. I got a few gifts for close friends and husband, but that's it! I just want the holidays to come and skeedaddle out of here!

As usual, I've been working 7 days a week... not because I MUST, but because I don't like to have to type for 6 to 8 hours straight, 5 days in a row. So I space out my Friday and Monday's work and do some over the weekends, resulting in 7 days of typing one way or another.

And that is where I am headed just now... up to work, on the last Sunday before Christmas, not having stepped one foot inside a mall all season! And I hope to keep it that way!

It feels as if Old Man Winter has been here for weeks already, but he hasn't even officially made his appearance yet! What is it? Dec. 21st or something like that, that he comes in? Oh Lordy, it's going to be a long Winter here in the northeast!

If you love "The Holidays", no matter which holiday you celebrate, I am happy for you.

And I hope yours are Happy and Filled with Peace and Joy!

Cheers,

Bex

8:34 am - 19 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2