Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some Words of Wisdom

Some Words of Wisdom (?)



Not having had much free time lately to write my own prose, I am resorting to some quotes that I found entertaining.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sometimes, when I look at my children, I say to myself, "Lillian, you should have remained a virgin."
- Lillian Carter (mother of Jimmy & Billy Carter)


~ ~

I had a rose named after me and I was very flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalog: "No good in a bed, but fine against a wall."
- Eleanor Roosevelt


~ ~

Last week, I stated this woman was the ugliest woman I had ever seen. I have since been visited by her sister, and now wish to withdraw that statement.
- Mark Twain


~ ~

Santa Claus has the right idea. Visit people only once a year.
- Victor Borge


~ ~

Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.
- Mark Twain


~ ~

What would men be without women? Scarce, sir ... mighty scarce.
- Mark Twain


~ ~

By all means, marry. If you get a good wife, you'll become happy; if you get a bad one, you'll become a philosopher.
- Socrates


~ ~

I was married by a judge. I should have asked for a jury.
- Groucho Marx


~ ~

My wife has a slight impediment in her speech. Every now and then she stops to breathe.
- Jimmy Durante


~ ~

I have never hated a man enough to give his diamonds back.
- Zsa Zsa Gabor


~ ~

Only Irish coffee provides in a single glass all four essential food groups: alcohol, caffeine, sugar and fat.
- Alex Levine


~ ~

Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.
- Mark Twain


~ ~

My luck is so bad that if I bought a cemetery, people would stop dying.
- Ed Furgol


~ ~

Money can't buy you happiness... but it does bring you a more pleasant form of misery.
- Spike Milligan


~ ~

What's the use of happiness? It can't buy you money.
- Henny Youngman


~ ~

I am opposed to millionaires... but it would be dangerous to offer me the position.
- Mark Twain


~ ~

Until I was thirteen, I thought my name was shut up.
- Joe Namath


~ ~

Youth would be an ideal state if it came a little later in life.
- Herbert Henry Asquith


~ ~

I don't feel old. I don't feel anything until noon. Then it's time for my nap.
- Bob Hope


~ ~

We could certainly slow the aging process down if it had to work its way through Congress.
- Will Rogers


~ ~

Don't worry about avoiding temptation... as you grow older, it will avoid you.
- Winston Churchill


~ ~

Maybe it's true that life begins at fifty... but everything else starts to wear out, fall out, or spread out.
- Phyllis Diller


~ ~

The Cardiologist's Diet: If it tastes good spit it out.
- Unknown


~ ~

By the time a man is wise enough to watch his step, he's too old to go anywhere.
-Billy Crystal

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I think I like Mark Twain the best...he always seems to say just what I was thinking.

As for things here, we are plodding thru life. Next Wednesday and Thursday, we are scheduled to have our new heating unit and new oil tank installed, and the old one (both broken) removed. Thankfully, the terrible heat-wave has broken for us here in the Northeast, and it should be bearable on those days. It will be just in time, too. Nights are slowly getting cooler, and before we know it, heating season will be upon us...and then we'll have all that fun buying heating oil again!

I need to keep typing for dollars, that's all there is to it. I can't stop anytime soon, not with the cost of living skyrocketing like it has been lately. When will it hit the top? Little folk like us are finding it harder and harder to make do with a hard-earned paycheck anymore!

Happy weekend, friends!

Cheers,

Bex

2:20 pm - 18 August 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2