Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Buttercups and Babushkas

BUTTERCUPS AND BABUSHKAS





When things aren't going my way, I always log on to my photo albums of England and bathe in the glory of my wonderful England.

Today is one of those days.

Mainly because of all the discouraging news about War, and the uncertainty of the future.

But I needed a little get-a-way here, and so all I'm going to say is, I wish I were in Whitby!

Click photo to enlarge.

I know Whitby Abbey looks crooked, but I had to get down on my hands and knees to get this shot, and with my body, that was no small feat...

The Abbey really isn't always tilting like that!

It's such a wonderful place... is Whitby Abbey. The rigmarole that you have to go through nowadays, though, has taken some of the mystical charm out of it. There is a huge building now, with gifts, and all kinds of Whitby Abbey memorabilia to browse through, and you must go through it as you pay your fee, before they let you into the grounds.

They also strongly encourage you to take one of these modern recorder/thingies... when you walk around and press the button, a little recorded voice comes on it and acts like a tour guide... that was totally off the wall for me, but Paul politely took it from the woman, and he spent the whole time trying to figure it out!

Sandy and I just took off past the Abbey, past the little pond, in the cold and wild Yorkshire wind, and took pictures! This was one of them...while Paul was back there with the phone up to his ear, and the wind howling on the hill, trying to understand what that little British voice in there was saying!

It was quite comical actually.

Now that i think of it...

Glad I remembered this...it has gotten me out of my funk...temporarily at least!

Goodnight, my Babushka!

8:19 pm - 18 March 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2