Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christmas in May

CHRISTMAS IN MAY...

Just when we got a nice, lovely, sun-drenched day, with the temperature up above 50 for the first time in ages...in fact, downright warm at times, I find myself having a bit of a Christmas celebration - in May!

It all began when my wonderful boss, Ellen, gave me a gift certificate last Christmas. I am not a "shopper" and so I've hung onto that gift certificate all this time, just waiting for the perfect time to use it. It was one of those "Mall" types of gift certificates...good at a multitude of shopping malls all around the New England area, even around the country, I believe. So I had quite a large choice of stores in which to use it.

Today I got to work a little earlier than usual, and the work that had come in was not ready for me yet. They asked if I could go shopping for an hour and come back, but I really didn't need to get anything!

Then I remembered my almost six month old gift certificate, and I said, "OK...I'll go over to Kohl's and check them out."

Kohl's had set up a new store near there about a year ago, and I had never been in it before today.

I drove the short distance to the Mall and went into Kohl's, not having anything in particular in mind to buy for myself. But this WAS a Christmas gift, from my boss, so I wanted it to be kind of special and frivolous.

I am not your typical frivolous type, except when it comes to books, possibly.

Anyway, I walked all around this huge empty store, and my back was starting to get very, very painful indeed. I was all ready to give up and get out of there, when I spotted, in their housewares section, some really pretty dinner plates.

Well, since we are getting a brand new kitchen in the near future, I thought this would be a nice little gift to us for the new kitchen. So I chose 4 dinner plates and 4 sandwich plates.

Plates can be seen here

There is a close-up of one set of them. They are all lighthouses, hand-painted, too, and these plates are heavy!

Lugging them from the rear of the store, all the way out the door and to my car, which was parked half way down the car-park, was a job too, as my back had given out about 10 minutes earlier. I made it though, and went back to the office to show Ellen what she had just given us for a Christmas prezzie last year! And thanked her again!

I am going to put them away, and not use them until our new kitchen is all done and ready for use.

It was a long day at work today, but it ended nicely.

We have an appointment with the kitchen designer at Home Depot tomorrow at 8:30 a.m. to design and order the kitchen cabinets and countertops, sink, etc... It really feels like it's actually going to happen this year!

Cheers!

5:31 pm - 29 May 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2