Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday Meanderings

SATURDAY MEANDERINGS...

I can hardly remember what it was like to have two whole days in a row off... with no work to do. Of course, even when I had two days in a row off from "official" work, I had home-work to get done...not the kind of home-work students do, but you know... work around the home...shopping for food, straightening things up after a week of carelessness. Doing laundry, folding it and putting it all away...week after week... not exactly two days "off", but just no office work.

Well, those days are gone. And I'm not really complaining about it because, in truth, I love my job, and I would not want to revert back to my Monday-thru-Friday routine for anything. I like, very much indeed, the freedom of choosing when I do my work. And since I do it at home, it's a very flexible schedule, however, that said, I still wind up working sometimes 7 days a week, and almost always 6 days a week at it. So having 2 days off in a row would be very unusual for me these days!

Not having children, only dogs, makes this lifestyle good too. I don't have school and sports schedules to keep up with...I don't have to be a human-taxi for a slew of offspring and friends. Our dogs are very considerate, for the most part, and don't ask too much of us - the occasional walkies down the street is met with exhuberance that is unmatched by anything else! Just the mention, ever so softly, of the word WALKIES! turns a quiet moment here into one of utter chaos... the dogs' eyes light up, they begin panting fast and furious, and they run from one end of the house to the other, praying they heard right, and that we are, indeed, preparing for a Walkies! down the street. It's all very funny, actually, and brings smiles to us both every single time.

So, here it is - Saturday. I missed watching the French Open Tennis today, since I never could find a guide telling me WHEN it was on TV and what channel was covering it! The Salem News was delivered too late to look there, and we don't get a TV guide. So I spent the day typing...doing my Friday work really, since I never got round to it yesterday. We spent all morning and into the p.m. at Home Depot yesterday planning out our new kitchen with "Rob-the-kitchen-planner".

I managed to scan copies of his print-outs of what the kitchen will look like...those can be seen at my fotolog site which is here:

http://www.fotolog.net/crowbelle

When I finally finished all my work upstairs at the computer, it was about 2:45 p.m. I turned on the TV, and found the last few minutes of a match being played, and then it was over! I now see that another station - the sports channel ESPN - is replaying (?) The Lleyton Hewitt match now, but I like to see them live...not taped.

Paul came home from lobstering completely tired out. I'm feeling especially tired out also, and I'm wondering if it's catchy? He has gone upstairs now to relax, read his "Barron's" newspaper, and to promptly fall asleep in the process.

Me, I'm spending what's left of this day browsing through some sites of new friends on-line, and writing this journal. I've just joined the Autumn Leaves group of websites and I don't want to disappoint them and not post for a while. You can find their other journals and weblogs up above on the left hand column if you like. I haven't even had the time yet to browse most of them, only a few so far. So that's what I'm planning to do now...before it's time to start cooking the codfish that paul caught today in his lobster traps...he came home with two big codfish, and he has cleaned them and I've frozen one, and kept one out for supper tonight. Nothing like a really fresh codfish for supper!

Cheers!

3:57 pm - 31 May 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2