Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After the Storm

AFTER THE STORM

(or, "A Day at the Fort")

Well, it wasn't exactly a day at The Fort, more like an hour or two!

Here are some pictures of it:

The Fort Pictures

We had a wild and windy and rainy day yesterday. I worked most of the day. Near the end of the day, when the rain let up, and the sun peeked out a bit, Paul asked if I wanted to drive over to Marblehead with him to check on his boat. (After a storm, if you work on the sea, that is your first priority!)

I said "Yes! But can we take the girls along, too?"

He reluctantly agreed. They don't travel much with us...heck WE don't travel much, so they are not used to riding in a car. It took a while to prepare for this jaunt. I had to get the rear seats put down in my Honda, which I wasn't sure how to do as I'd only done it once or twice before. Then we had to get those big bohunk-dogs up into the back of the car. They were SO excited, but not sure about whizzing down the road at lightning speed (30 mph)! They didn't have their car-legs until we arrived at The Fort...so they were falling all over the back of the car when I would stop and start! Poor babies!

When we arrived, all the townsfolk were out in droves... they had been cooped up all weekend and, as soon as the rain let up, they all flooded down to the harbor to look at the seas. That's just the way Marbleheaders are.


I remember one year when I was less than 10... we were in the midst of a hurricane in Marblehead. My Mum thought it would be fun to round up some neighbors and walk down to the harbor, in the hurricane, to see the ocean swells! We walked thru town to The Fort, where we almost lost my younger brother in the wind over the rocks! Lucky for him that Mum was holding onto his hand...he went flying in the air just like a flag!


So yesterday, we had a nice visit, with the dogs for a change, down at Fort Sewall in Marblehead. Paul's boat is moored there, and in some of the photos above you can see a tiny royal blue speck in the water, that's Bollocks! - his lobster boat.

The dogs had a ball! Sniffies like they never knew existed before!

I tried taking pictures whilst holding the lead for Whitby, and a lot of my pictures came out blurry, which I had to delete. You can't do photography whilst holding an eager collie dog! Rule #1!

The storm has taken its toll here, though. I think the baby bird, who I heard chirping in its nest underneath my air conditioning unit in the den upstairs, has been swept away. I hear no chirping now...I can't really SEE the nest, except from outside, and then it's so high up, I can't see IN it...but it was very silent this morning, no chirping for food as it usually does. That is very sad, indeed.

Off the back deck, I have a little hanging birdhouse that my sister gave me one year - as an ornamental thing, but which the birds discover each year and make into a nesting place. There is a little family of birds in there now, and they seem to have survived the storm OK. Mom and Pop bird are flitting back and forth with bits of food, so I'm sure there is a baby in there...

I get all wrapped up in this bird sitution here and I really shouldn't. Mother Nature will go on her own merry way, no matter how much worrying I do.

So, I have more work to get done today, and that is where I am headed now. I gave myself a haircut just now, short for the upcoming warm weather, and I'm ready to start the work day.

Cheers!

8:10 am - 02 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2