Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who Wants Cookies?

WHO WANTS COOKIES?

It's not very often that I bake anything, but today was different.

I have a cookout to go to tomorrow. My boss is having us all up to her house in New Hampshire tomorrow, and I signed up to bring those now infamous "Neiman-Marcus Cookies" that have been going around on the internet lately (under the guise of an Urban Legend). The story about the cookies turned out to be made up, but my friend, Sandy, told me that the recipe was, in fact, legitimate... that she had made them herself a few times, and that they were great!

So, not knowing anything about them, I signed up to bring these Neiman-Marcus cookies as my contribution to Ellen's cookout.

It took me most of the morning today to bake them! As I said, I am NO cook. Martha Stewart can rest assured that I will not be taking her job anytime soon!

However, I did try my best, and here they are, in all their chewy glory!

The Neiman-Marcus Cookies!

I did eat one myself, and my better half is out there having two of them with his lunch. I have not died from eating them, and it's been over an hour, so I'm assuming they are edible!

To save time and space, the general story goes like this:

Two women, mother and daughter, were shopping in Neiman-Marcus one day, and stopped to have lunch there. After lunch they ordered the specialty of the house, the Neiman-Marcus cookies, for dessert.

They were so good, the woman asked for the recipe and the waitress said it would cost her "Two-Fifty". She said fine, put it on her bill, and left.

When the credit card statement came in, Neiman-Marcus had a $250.00 charge on there for the cookie recipe! She was furious, got a lawyer, and contacted the store, but to no avail. She had heard "Two Fifty" as the price for the recipe, and of course, she figured it was $2.50, not $250.00!

She had to pay it...her lawyer advised her!

So she was publishing the recipe on-line for all to see, so that Neiman Marcus won't ever have to charge that outlandish fee for their recipe again!

Now this story, it turns out, was a hoax, an urban legend, whatever you want to call it. However, the recipe exists, and works!

Paul just popped his head in the doorway just now to say "Those cookies were good, thank you!" and off he went.

I must say, though, that I could never have done this job without the able assistance of my best cook's helper, Miss Whitby Crowell.

She helps me everytime I attempt cooking or baking, in the kitchen...she usually lies right in the middle of the floor, just so I won't hurry around the room, because it's a small room, and I must be careful not to trip over her there. She was there for the cookie-making today, and she even got to lick the bowl when I was done.

(Mmmm-mmmm-good!)

(Of course there were only fumes left in the bowl...I do NOT feed chocolate to my dogs, but she didn't mind, she was grateful for that little bit). Jazzy came by just in time to help clean out the bowl with Whitby, and the kitchen was cleaned all up again, cookies put away in the fridge, waiting to go to the cookout tomorrow.

All in all, it was a positive experience, which I can't always say for my forays into the kitchen! I was working with a torn-up kitchen, with all my cooking utensils and ingredients scattered all over the house, some in the basement! So it took longer than usual to accomplish the task.


I think I'll forego making any more special things in there until our new kitchen is all installed... the cabinets are being delivered here on July 2nd, and after that we should start to see things moving along in there.

If anyone would like the recipe for these now-famous cookies, I would be glad to provide it upon request. But it can be gotten on-line by just doing a search for the Neiman-Marcus cookies, I would suppose.

Cheers!

1:30 p.m. - 20 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2