Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Steamy Beginnings

STEAMY BEGINNINGS

It's only the first week into Summer, and already I've been caught praying for the cool Fall weather!

Summertime is not my favourite of seasons. It's very nice to see the trees, flowers and shrubs all splendid in their fluffy leaves and blooms, but this heat wave we've been enduring now for several days, and coming at the very first week of the season, has put me right off Summer!

The pansies I'd planted back in the Spring are half dead...having grown long and "leggy" already, and it isn't even July yet! I don't much enjoy re-planting my window boxes after the first of July because I know, only too well, that the weather will get hotter and hotter, and the poor little plants will only bake in the sun.

I guess I wouldn't mind the heat so much (what am I saying?) if I were living in someplace like Arizona, or New Mexico, where, I imagine, heat is the order of the day - but I live in (supposedly) cool, wet, New England, and a week in the 90's, at the end of June, is not my idea of fun!

I'm not alone in this opinion, either. Several journals I've read lately have lamented the same thought --- sick of the heat already!


The new kitchen is at a standstill. Next Wednesday we are expecting the arrival of the largest semi-tractor trailer truck to come steaming up into our tiny little, hilly neighborhood, delivering approximately 18 to 20 large boxes of brand new kitchen cabinets. Where we will put all of them, I have no clue. They will just be stashed into every empty spot in the house, upstairs and down, and in the basement, awaiting the day when we get our friend over here to install them into the kitchen. But a lot has to happen before that day arrives.

We have yet to get the electrical wiring done, or the floor pulled up, or the sheetrocking done, for that matter. Paul has not put the wood trim around the two new windows, and we will need the plumber here to re-route the pipes under the sink. It's all so much work that my mind is boggled thinking about it. So I don't think about it much. I'm leaving it to Paul...and, unfortunately, he hasn't been thinking about it much either!

We did get our new microwave which is also a convection oven, from our local appliance store. They called yesterday to say that after 4 p.m. today, our range hood/fan would be in, so I can pick that up, as well.

We have still not chosen countertops, but Paul tells me that the man who will be installing the cabinets has a friend who does countertops, and that he was planning on stopping by here sometime with samples for us to look at... that was supposed to happen last week, and of course it did not happen yet.

Nothing new.

I knew this project would go at a turtle's pace.

Besides the mess we're in with the kitchen, Paul had to have his lobster boat hauled out this week. It's time for the yearly bottom work on her, and he had to accomplish that in the high 90 degree weather we've had recently. No air-conditioning going on at the boat yard, that's for darn sure! Bollocks! (his boat) went back "over" (put into the ocean) last night, so Paul is back at work, pulling "bugs" (lobsters) from the sea today. He's happy to be back at work, and I'm happy he is making money again, albeit not a great deal. June and July are not the best months for lobstering around here. They pick up nearer to the Fall and Winter.

So, that's about it from Crow Cottage. We're just trying to stay cool, to keep our tempers from flaring at every little annoyance, and to keep our fur-bedecked dogs as cool as possible, as well. I've got two wonderful Panasonic air-conditioners going almost non-stop, and they seem to be doing the job. So it's back upstairs to my office area now, and we'll see how much work I can accomplish with the remainder of this hot and steamy Friday.


Oh, by the way... today, June 27th, is the 60th wedding anniversary of Paul's folks, Elmer and Eleanor.

"Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad!"

They are planning to revisit the same place where they spent their wedding night all those many years ago, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Awwww! How romantic!

Cheers!

10:49 am - 27 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2