Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remembering Muffin Collie-Flower

REMEMBERING MUFFIN COLLIE-FLOWER

Four years ago today, we said so-long to the most wonderful dog in dogdom, Muffin Collie-Flower Crowell. On June 28, 1999, that dear soul moved on to her spiritual life. So I will offer a bit of her here for you today, in memory of one of the best dogs I've ever known.

She came to us after we lost our great pyrenees, Esmeralda, back in 1995. Muffin had lived with a collie breeding family, and she was not only a wonderful show dog, but she bred many other puppies who, we assume, went on to be show dogs, as well. We were not interested in showing her, but just in loving her and making her a part of our lives.

She came to Crow Cottage just after we had returned from our trip to England that year. She lived here as an only-dog for the summer, and we adopted Jasmine Rose later that year to be her sister. Muffin was such a lovely dog, and faithful friend to us.

She withstood occasional baths with no squabbling. She had such a heavy coat of fur, it took forever for it to dry once she was soaking wet. But she was a trooper - she never complained, not even once.

One day while brushing her, I noticed a large lump in her chest area, and it turned out to be breast cancer. She had it removed, and the vet seemed to think he'd gotten it all. She did not have any other treatments, but lots of rest and extra loves.

She weathered that storm pretty well, but then about 3 years later, she developed "nose cancer" which, as you can imagine in a collie, is not good! It was way at the back of her long, long nose, and the vets informed us there was no way to treat it really. She had nose bleeds all the time, but for the most part, she was still a happy dog and we loved her even more, if that was possible.

Eventually, the cancer took over and she let us know, in no uncertain terms, on June 28, 1999, that she was ready to move on now, to her next phase of life.

We reluctantly let her go, but it was the hardest thing I've ever done. I spent the day at home, making a web page in her memory, and just feeling like I'd lost the best friend I'd ever had.

The picture below was taken the day before Muff passed on. She had spent the day with me out in the garden, walking around with me as I tended to the plants and flowers, sneaking under the cool shade of the trees out of the sun, and just being with me. I am so grateful for that day, and I will never forget it. Little did I know it was to be her last full day with us.

This page is for you, my Muff. Even though it's been four long years since you left, and even though we have since adopted Whitby, and still have Jasmine, to give us lots and lots of collie-loves, there is no dog that will ever take your place in our hearts. We will love you forever!

9:22 am - 28 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2