Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Sweet Smell of New Wood

The Sweet Smell of New Wood

It's like when you get into a brand new car, and the upholstery has that new leather smell -- same with the new kitchen. There is a faint odor of new wood since last Saturday we finally had one wall of cabinets installed in the kitchen.

There is still lots of work left to do, but we are experiencing instant gratification by just having this one bank of new cabinets all done.

More pictures of them can be found HERE

The countertop is only a piece of plywood for now, so we could use it until the new, solid-surface countertop is installed.

Our next step is to have the plumber come in to re-route the water pipes under the sink, then Paul can finish up his sheetrock/painting work over on that side of the room, and the carpenter can come back to install the remaining cabinets on the sink side of the room.

Then the countertop people will come and measure etc...we will wait for that to happen - who knows how long THAT will be? - and then lastly we will get the flooring people in to measure for the vinyl sheet flooring. And then, my friends, our new kitchen will be completed. I'm praying it all is at an end by Christmas, but one never knows, and I'm keeping an open and flexible mind in this matter.

It's sure been nice to move a lot of our "stuff" from the dining room back into the new cabinets. Even with the new ones in place, though, we will still have to build some storage units in the basement for the overflow of "stuff". I'm hoping I can sift through it all and maybe donate some of it to the church bazaar in October - my neighber said she would handle that if we have some stuff to donate.


Well, we had a few days of cooler temperatures, sun, and no rain, but as I sit here writing this, the sky has begun to leak again, so I guess it's back to the same old rain for today! We've had much more of it this year than normally.

I think I'll go out in the kitchen now and see if there are any more little jobs I can do there...it's become my favourite room in the house.

Cheers!

8:25 am - 25 August 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2