Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Birthdays

Happy Birthday, Uncle Russell!

I know this won't interest most of my readers, but today is our Uncle Russell's birthday.

Uncle Russell is a man I am not related to by blood, only by marriage. I have only met him in person once. He lives in Florida and we live in Massachusetts. So you see the dilemma. He and Aunt Gladys came up here once years ago and came by Crow Cottage for a short visit before going on into Marblehead for a reminiscent visit down by the waterfront.

It's funny, too. Paul's family is so spread out that I haven't really gotten to know most of them. Especially the Florida branch. Not too long ago, since Russell and I had exchanged emails occasionally, he sent us his son, Edwin's, email addy, and since Paul wanted to reestablish a relationship with his cousin Ed, we emailed him and it's never stopped. Now we "talk" to Ed at least once a week, sometimes more depending on our schedules. He is so much fun to talk to and to learn about. Their lives in Florida have been so different from ours. He has a great wife, and two extremely handsome strapping boys. They are an All-American type of family and someday I hope we can arrange it so we all get together in the same place and actually meet each other...me for the first time, and Paul after a very very long absence with Ed.

So today is Ed's dad's birthday. Russell is Paul's dad's only brother. They have such funny stories to tell, too, and Ed has been doing a yeoman's job in relating some of those old-time stories for us. I know the older folks are getting up there in years (in their 80's now) and I just hope we can keep sharing stories about the old days before it's too late.

Sometimes you let your parents slip thru life and then they are gone, and there are so many questions unanswered - about family stories and such. I know that happened to me.

My Dad was born in 1902. My Mum was born in 1925. So you can see there was a whole generation of stories in there that I never really got. I was too young to care about them when I was living at home, and after I moved out at 18 years of age, I had a fast moving life in other parts of the country, so the stories just kind of died with my Dad when he passed away in 1978. I regret that a lot. I think he may have had another life before he married my Mum, too. Not sure, but just a suspicion. Like maybe another wife before her... He was old enough to be her father. We had a weird family.

Anyway, I just wanted to take this opportunity to say

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, RUSSELL!

Click Here for Photo

in my journal today, and hope that he has many more to come. 82 isn't all THAT old, after all.

While I'm here wishing happy birthdays, I'd just like to give a shout-out to Ed's son, Matthew (our second cousin) also, who turned 18 the other day.

Happy Birthday, Matthew!

Wow, 18! When I was 18, my world had just opened up and let me in. I was out in that big world, away from home, alone, in love, experimenting (it WAS the '60s, after all) and just seeing how much mischief I could get into all at once! I sure hope Matthew has an exciting year, and doesn't worry his folks as much as I worried mine at that age.

Cheers to Uncles and Cousins!

Bex

8:48 am - 26 March 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2