Thoughts from Crow Cottage (My Main Blog.)

crowbelle's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Erasing the Chalkboard

Erasing the Chalkboard

Sometimes, I just get tired of having an old journal entry up and, though I don't have the time or the mental energy to produce a new one, I want something different on here... so I am here just to erase the old entry, and leave this new one in its place... like cleaning the chalkboard in school.

I once was the chalkboard cleaner in my class. It was a position only afforded to the teacher's pet pupils, and for a little while, I was it. Not everyone got to clean the chalkboard, but I did, and I loved every sweep of it.

I loved it so much, in fact, that my mother had me write a letter to the Superintendent of Schools in our town asking if there were any old discarded large chalkboards lying around anywhere that I could have for free. I resisted writing this letter (I must have been all of 9 or 10) but I finally did it, and I was happily surprised when Mr. Aura W. Coleman (funny how I remembered that name a half century later!) wrote me a very professional-looking letter, on School letterhead, saying that he did, indeed, have some leftover chalkboards lying around somewhere, and that I could certainly have one if I wished.

I loved that chalkboard so much.

I had to keep it down in our basement (which was not comfy-cosy at all, but unfinished, and scary at night) mainly because the chalk dust got all over the floor whenever I erased it clean.

It was a green chalkboard, and must have measured about 8+ feet in length by about 3 feet in height. Just like the ones we had in our classrooms on the front wall.

I can remember buying boxes of big colored chalk, and spending lovely long hours down in that damp basement drawing things on my chalkboard.

Such fun back then, when the world was simple.

A boogey-man lived in our basement - in a tiny room that had a locked door - "the boogey-man room." My parents told us never to go in there, but we did one day. We got in through a small basement window and we nearly wet our pants with fright. All that was in there were shelves and shelves of old glass mason jars my Mum used for canning up home-made grape jelly. Hundreds of them. No boogeyman, after all. But I'll never forget that little room with the locked door...

...or that marvelous long green chalkboard that afforded me so many hours of artistic pleasure down in the basement.

If only kids these days could be so easily satisfied and entertained!

Cheers,

Bex

8:37 am - 26 February 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go back ~ leave a note ~ go forward

latest entry

about me

archives

leave a note

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

scullerymaid
thecrankyone
author1981
chakra-nadi
ottodixless
eatmorepizza
bluejeans-uk
muffinhead
dangerspouse
wordsofmine
newschick
essaywriter
justmouse
la-the-sage
annanotbob2